Skip to Content Skip to Footer
About the AMA Fellows

About the AMA Fellows

AMA Fellows

The distinction of “AMA Fellow” is given to members in good standing of the AMA who have made significant contributions to the research, theory, and practice of marketing, and/or to the service and activities of the AMA over a prolonged period of time. The AMA Fellow designation is intended to recognize marketing academics’ achievement, but it is also designed to create a space for fellowship, discussion, collaboration, and continued contributions to the discipline.  Each year a new cohort is nominated from the academic community, selected by a group of distinguished peers, and honored at the AMA Winter Academic Conference.


Research Contributions

  • Contributions to marketing scholarship are the most important criterion considered in the evaluation process. A nominee’s research should have had a major impact on marketing thought, theory, education, practice, or other research. AMA expects that AMA Fellows’ research contributions reflect the diversity in scholarship in marketing.

General Creativity/Innovativeness

  • Contributions including creativity and innovativeness may take a variety of forms.  For example, an individual receiving this honor may have been the initiator of new marketing concepts, may have established new approaches to the application of marketing, may have developed new marketing theories, or may have developed new ways to analyze or utilize data.

Service and Participation within AMA

  • Nominees must be current and long-standing (minimum of five years of membership, consecutive years are not necessary) members of the AMA. A history of active contributions to and participation within AMA will also be considered during the evaluation process.  These contributions can include, but are not be limited to: editors in AMA journals, AMA editorial review board membership, conference or track chairs at an AMA conference, SIG leadership, or AMA Academic Council or Board of Directors membership.

Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration. It is intended that the candidates be living and it is expected that candidates hold a position at a degree-granting academic institution.

Each year a new cohort is inducted and honored at Winter AMA.

Nomination Process

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments.  Nomination materials will include:

  1. A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s research contributions, creative/innovative accomplishments, and AMA service/participation.
  2. A current curriculum vita for the nominee.

The AMA Fellows Committee will select the 2024 cohort from the nominations received.

Carryover Policy: It is committee policy to evaluate a nominee up to three times—the year initially nominated and, if applicable, the subsequent two years. Thus, individuals nominated but not selected for 2024 will also be considered in 2025 and 2026.

Questions? Contact the chair of the AMA Fellows selection committee:
2023–24 Immediate Past President of the AMA Academic Council, Maura Scott,
Please cc T.J. Anderson at

Nominations for the 2024 Cohort Closed on October 25, 2023

2024 Fellows

Harald van Heerde, University of New South Wales
Ronald Hill, American University
Robert Leone, Texas Christian University
Lisa Scheer, University of Missouri
Venkatesh Shankar, Southern Methodist University
Vanitha Swaminathan, University of Pittsburgh

2023 Fellows

Robin A. Coulter, University of Connecticut
Mark B. Houston, Texas Christian University
J. Jeffrey Inman, University of Pittsburgh
Sandy Jap, Emory University
Richard G. Netemeyer, University of Virginia
William Qualls, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2022 Fellows

Dhruv Grewal, Babson College
Jan Heide, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Eli Jones, Texas A&M University

2021 Fellows

Christian Homburg, University of Mannheim and University of Manchester
Deborah MacInnis, University of Southern California
JB Steenkamp, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
David Stewart, Loyola Marymount University
Beth Walker, Colorado State University
Jerome Williams, Rutgers University-Newark

2020 Fellows

Mary Jo Bitner, Arizona State University
Vijay Mahajan, University of Texas – Austin
Rajendra Srivastava, Indian School of Business

2019 Fellows

Mary Gilly, University of California-Irvine
Bernard Jaworski, Claremont Graduate University
Linda Price, University of Oregon
Gerard Tellis, University of Southern California

2018 Fellows

Wayne DeSarbo, Pennsylvania State University
V. (Seenu) Srinivasan, Stanford University
Michel Wedel, University of Maryland

2017 Fellows

Ajay Kohli,  Georgia Institute of Technology
V. Kumar, Georgia State University
John Lynch, University of Colorado
Christine Moorman, Duke University

2016 Fellows

Ruth Bolton, Arizona State University
Katherine Lemon, Boston College
A. Parsu Parasuraman, University of Miami
Vithala Rao, Cornell University

2015 Fellows (Inaugural Year)

Richard Bagozzi, University of Michigan 
Frank Bass, University of Texas-Dallas* 
Leonard Berry, Texas A&M University
James Bettman, Duke University 
Gilbert Churchill, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
George Day, University of Pennsylvania 
Paul Green, University of Pennsylvania*
Shelby Hunt, Texas Tech University 
Philip Kotler, Northwestern University 
William Lazer, Michigan State University 
Donald Lehmann, Columbia University
Sidney Levy, University of Arizona
Gary Lilien, Pennsylvania State University
Robert Lusch, University of Arizona
Richard Lutz, University of Florida
Kent Monroe, University of Illinois
Leigh McAlister, University of Texas
Donald Morrison, UCLA
William Perreault, University of North Carolina
Robert Peterson, University of Texas at Austin
Roland Rust, University of Maryland
Jagdish Sheth, Emory University
Richard Staelin, Duke University
Louis Stern, Northwestern University
Rajan Varadarajan, Texas A&M University
Barton Weitz, University of Florida
William Wilkie, University of Notre Dame
Yoram Wind, University of Pennsylvania
Russell Winer, New York University
Gerald Zaltman, Harvard University
Valarie Zeithaml, University of North Carolina
*Awarded Posthumously