Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Dhruv Grewal, Jan Heide, Eli Jones Chosen as 2022 AMA Fellows

Monica Gerhardt

The American Marketing Association is pleased to announce the selection of three distinguished scholars to be inducted as AMA Fellows at the AMA Winter Academic Conference.

This year’s honorees include scholars who span the discipline and have made extensive contributions both within the AMA and across other organizations and institutions.


Dhruv Grewal, Babson College

Dhruv Grewal (Ph.D. Virginia Tech) is the Toyota Chair in Commerce and Electronic Business and a Professor of Marketing at Babson College. His research and teaching interests focus on direct marketing and e-commerce, marketing research, the broad areas of value-based marketing strategies, services and retailing, and pricing. He is an Honorary Distinguished Visiting Professor of Retailing and Marketing, Tecnologico de Monterrey, a GSBE Extramural Fellow, Maastricht University, Global Chair in Marketing at the University of Bath, and has been an Honorary Distinguished Visiting Professor of Retailing and Marketing, Center for Retailing, Stockholm School of Economics and a Visiting Scholar at Dartmouth. He has also served as a faculty member at the University of Miami, where he has also served as a department chair. He has published over 150 journal articles in Journal of Marketing, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Retailing, Journal of Consumer Psychology, Journal of Applied Psychology, and Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, as well as many other journals.

Jan Heide, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jan B. Heide is the Michael E. Lehman Distinguished Chair in Business at the Wisconsin School of Business. Heide’s primary teaching and research interests are distribution systems, strategic partnerships, and marketing strategy. Heide’s research has been internationally recognized. In 1998, he won the Harold Maynard award from the Journal of Marketing, and an American Marketing Association study rated him the third most influential individual in the nation in terms of citations for marketing research. He is a three-time winner of the Louis W. Stern Award from the American Marketing Association. His research has been published in the Journal of Marketing, the Journal of Marketing Research, the Academy of Management Journal, the Academy of Management Review, and the Journal of Law and Economics, among others. He received his MBA and Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and his B.S. from the Norwegian School of Management. Prior to joining UW-Madison’s Marketing Department, he was a faculty member at Case Western Reserve University.

Eli Jones, Texas A&M University

Eli Jones has led three flagship business schools as dean for over 13 years. He was the Dean of Mays Business School at Texas A&M University from 2015-2021 and is a Professor of Marketing and Lowry and Peggy Mays Eminent Scholar. Jones has published in the Journal of Marketing, Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, Journal of Personal Selling & Sales Management, Management Science, and Journal of Applied Psychology, among other journals. He has received Excellence in Teaching awards on the university, national, and international levels. He teaches strategic selling, advanced professional selling, key accounts selling, sales leadership, and marketing strategy at the undergraduate and MBA levels, and a Ph.D. seminar on marketing strategy. Jones holds a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism, an MBA, and a Ph.D. in Marketing all from Texas A&M University. Prior to becoming an academic, he worked in key account sales and sales management at Quaker Oats, Nabisco, and Frito-Lay.

The distinction of “AMA Fellow” is given to members in good standing of the AMA who have made significant contributions to the research, theory, and practice of marketing, and/or to the service and activities of the AMA over a prolonged period of time. The AMA Fellow designation is intended to recognize marketing academics’ achievement, but it is also designed to create a space for fellowship, discussion, collaboration, and continued contributions to the discipline.  

Each year a new cohort is nominated from the academic community, selected by a group of distinguished peers, and honored at Winter AMA. Since the program’s inaugural year, over 50 scholars have been inducted as AMA Fellows. Nominations for new fellows are accepted on an annual basis. Learn more about the AMA Fellows and the nomination process.

The Winter Academic Conference annual creates space to honor special achievements in the discipline. This year that includes the AMA FellowsWilliam L. Wilkie Marketing for a Better World AwardErin Anderson Award for an Emerging Female Marketing Scholar and MentorJohn A. Howard/ AMA Doctoral Dissertation Award, and the announcement of the newest recipients of the AMA-EBSCO Responsible Research in Marketing Grants.

Monica Gerhardt is Director of the Academic Communities and Journals at AMA where she delivers community-driven events, supports volunteer leaders and Special Interest Groups, and continues to foster a “sense of home” for fellowship and camaraderie among marketing academics.