Skip to Content Skip to Footer

About the AMA Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of the AMA, the American Marketing Association Foundation champions individual marketers who are making an impact in our profession and community.  We recognize marketing visionaries who have elevated the field, and we support the next generation of marketers who will transform the profession.

Gifts to the AMAF directly go to rewarding difference markers, inspiring future generations and honoring those that move the industry forward.

Robert Lusch
Robert Lusch served as chair of the AMA Board of Directors, Vice President of Publications, and Editor of the Journal of Marketing among his many contributions.

Support the AMA Foundation Robert Lusch Early Career Research Award

Bob Lusch’s teaching interests included complex adaptive systems, marketing channels, retailing, and innovation in society. Following Bob’s tragic passing in 2017, The Robert Lusch Early Career Research Award was proposed to honor Bob and support scholars in the early stages of their careers.

Donate now to help the AMAF establish the Robert Lusch Early Career Research Award that will honor Bob’s legacy to marketing and support scholars in the early stages of their careers.

Representation Matters

Scholars of Color at the Front of the Classroom

Representation Matters: Scholars of Color at the Front of the Classroom, a session from the 2020 AMA Summer Conference, recognizes the AMA Foundation 2020 WQS and Valuing Diversity PhD Scholarship recipients. The session brings together leaders in marketing academia for a conversation on race, diversity, and inclusion.

Check out these first-hand insights from trailblazers of color who paved the way for today’s emerging scholars of color in the field, and an informative panel on the work that still needs to be done in the areas of inclusion.

AMA Awards

The AMA presents awards to exceptional marketing students, researchers, academics and professionals.

These awards honor influential, revolutionary and transformative leaders and their work. They are supported by the AMAF and made possible through the contributions of individuals who recognize and promote excellence in marketing. 

History of AMA Foundation

The AMAF was established by action of the AMA Board of Directors in June 1992. The Foundation was established for future restricted contributions as well as to encourage marketing women and men to contribute their time, talents, experience and other resources to foster the use of good marketing practices to benefit the larger society in addition to the organizations for which they are working, or had worked.

The first monetary pledge to the Foundation was made by Trustee Sheth’s Foundation in the form of a contribution to an endowment fund from which the earnings were to be used for the AMA’s Doctoral Dissertation Awards (since renamed as the John A. Howard/ AMA Doctoral Dissertation Awards).

The first cash contribution was donated by the AMA Knoxville Chapter, which was a leader in the effort to assist in the transition to free-marketing economics in Eastern Europe.

Robert “Bob” Lavidge
Founder of the AMA Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of the AMA, the AMAF seeks to elevate marketing visionaries, empower future generations, inspire a more diverse industry and ensure marketing research impacts public good. Since 1992, the AMAF has been supporting, rewarding and recognizing marketing achievement.

Please contact with any questions.

AMA Foundation Board of Advisors

2021-2022 AMA Foundation Board of Advisors

The AMAF Board of Advisors has equal representation from the academic and practitioner fields as we strive to serve the unique philanthropic goals of both groups.

Academic Subcommittee

Immediate Past Chairperson
Gail Zank

McCoy College of Business Administration
Texas State University

Bob Leone
Neeley School of Business
Texas Christian University

Stephanie Noble
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Terry Esper
Fisher College of Business
The Ohio State University

Rebecca Slotegraaf, Chair-Elect
Kelley School of Business
Indiana University

Beth Walker
College of Business
Colorado State University

Practitioner Subcommittee

Ric Sweeney
University of Cincinnati

Lisa Gudding

Tom Abrahamson
ReWired, LLC

Michelle Elster
Rabin Research Company

Rick Dow
The Dojo Group

Joan Treistman
The Treistman Group