Skip to Content Skip to Footer

New Cohort of Outstanding Scholars Named as 2017 AMA Fellows

Matt Weingarden

The American Marketing Association is pleased to announce the selection of four extraordinary scholars to be inducted as AMA Fellows. The new Fellows will be honored at Winter AMA 2017 in Orlando on February 17, 2017 at a special reception. 

Ajay Kohli, Georgia Institute of Technology
Professor Ajay Kohli is the Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair at the Scheller College of Business at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is a former Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Marketing and a recipient of the inaugural Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing award for long-term impact on marketing. He is a recipient of the Paul D. Converse award, an ISBM Fellow, and a recipient of the Mahajan award for career contributions to the field of marketing strategy. Dr. Kohli has previously taught at Emory University, Harvard Business School and The University of Texas at Austin. He worked in industry for over six years in sales & distribution management and has consulted with companies like 3M, Accenture, Andersen, Coca-Cola, Dow Chemical, Eastman Kodak, The Forum Corporation, Halliburton, IBM, Shell, Texas Instruments, and the World Bank.


V. Kumar, Georgia State University
V. Kumar (VK) is the Regents Professor, Richard and Susan Lenny Distinguished Chair Professor of Marketing, and executive director of the Center for Excellence in Brand & Customer Management at the J. Mack Robinson College of Business at Georgia State University. He has been recognized with 13 lifetime achievement awards in marketing strategy, inter-organizational issues, retailing, business-to-business marketing, and marketing research from the AMA and other professional organizations. VK has also received the Paul Converse Award and has been honored as a Legend in Marketing where his works were compiled in to 10 volumes with commentaries from scholars worldwide. VK is the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Marketing and serves as either the AE or as an ERB member of most of the scholarly journals in marketing and forecasting. VK has also been honored as the Chang Jiang Scholar, HUST, China; Faculty Fellow, Texas A&M university Institute for Advanced Study, College Station, TX; and Senior Fellow, Indian School of Business, India. 

John G. Lynch, Jr., University of Colorado Boulder
John G. Lynch, Jr. is the Ted Andersen Professor of Free Enterprise at the Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado Boulder, and the Director of the Center for Research on Consumer Financial Decision Making. Lynch is a Fellow of the Association for Consumer Research, the American Psychological Association, and the Society for Consumer Psychology. He has been a recipient of the Paul D. Converse Award. Five of his papers have been honored as outstanding article of the year: he has been recognized once each by the Journal of Marketing Research and by the Journal of Marketing, and three times by the Journal of Consumer Research. He is a member of the editorial boards of Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Consumer Psychology, and the Journal of Marketing, and a member of the Journal of Marketing Research Advisory Board. 

Christine Moorman, Duke University
Christine Moorman is the T. Austin Finch Professor, Sr. of Business Administration at The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University. Professor Moorman’s research focuses on understanding the nature and effects of information utilization and learning activities by consumers, managers, organizations, and financial markets. Her work has been published in the Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Marketing Science, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, and International Journal of Research in Marketing. Professor Moorman is the author of Strategy from the Outside In: Profiting from Customer Value with George S. Day (McGraw Hill, 2010), which was awarded the 2011 Berry Book prize for the best book in the field of marketing. She has also received the Paul D. Converse Award, the Mahajan Award for Career Contributions and the 2008 Distinguished Marketing Educator from the Academy of Marketing Science. 

The distinction of “AMA Fellow” is given to members in good standing of the AMA who have made significant contributions to the research, theory and practice of marketing, and/or to the service and activities of the AMA over a prolonged period of time. The AMA Fellow designation is intended to recognize marketing academics’ achievement, but it is also designed to create a space or fellowship, discussion, collaboration and continued contributions to the discipline.  Each year a new cohort is nominated from the academic community, selected by a group of distinguished peers and honored at Winter AMA. Last year, in the program’s first year, an inaugural cohort of 40 scholars was inducted as AMA Fellows. Nominations for new fellows are accepted on an annual basis. Learn more about the AMA Fellows and the nomination process​ today.​

Matt Weingarden, Vice President, Communities & Journals, leads the diverse team that supports the AMA’s network of community leaders from its three broad communities and four scholarly journals.