Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Journal of Marketing Awards Best Article Honors

Matt Weingarden

The Journal of Marketing has named the recipients for its three best article awards including the Sheth Foundation Journal of Marketing Award, the Shelby D. Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award, and the H. Paul Root/Marketing Science Institute Award. The awards represent the top scholarship within the discipline’s premier journal focused on substantive marketing questions. The articles will be honored at the AMA Summer Academic Conference in Chicago and will present in a special session on Friday, August 9 at 4:15 PM.

“The finalists for this year’s Journal of Marketing best article awards are truly outstanding,” explained Christine Moorman, JM Editor in Chief and T. Austin Finch, Sr, Professor of Business Administration at The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University. “Selected by a record turnout of JM’s AEs, ERB, and Advisory Board, these papers offer important knowledge to the marketing discipline. The committees selecting the winners were comprised of Coeditors and Advisory Board members. The winners stood above the rest. In the areas of long-term marketing impact (Sheth/JM Award), theory development in marketing (Hunt/Maynard Award), or the advancement of marketing practice (MSI/Root Award), these papers were judged as offering the field a high level of contribution.” 

The three award winning articles are listed below:

Sheth Foundation Journal of Marketing Award

Marketing in Computer-Mediated Environments: Research Synthesis and New Directions
Manjit S. Yadav and Paul A. Pavlou

The Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing Award honors the article published in the Journal of Marketing that has made the most significant long-term contributions to the field five years after its publication. This year’s winner is a conceptual paper by Manjit S. Yadav and Paul A. Pavlou that offers a theoretically rigorous, forward-looking framework to help scholars understand the long-term trajectory of computer-mediated environments (CMEs).

Yadav and Pavlou demonstrate that the emerging, multi-faceted literature in this domain has a parsimonious underlying structure involving four key interactions within CMEs: firm-consumer interactions, consumer-firm interactions, consumer-consumer interactions, and firm-firm interactions. The framework not only organizes the literature, but also identifies important gaps and promising theory development opportunities.

Learn more about the Sheth Foundation Journal of Marketing Award as well as this year’s finalists.

Shelby D. Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award

Converging on a New Theoretical Foundation for Selling
Nathaniel N. Hartmann, Heiko Wieland, and Stephen L. Vargo

The Shelby D. Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award recognizes a Journal of Marketing article that makes a significant contribution to marketing theory in a calendar year. This year’s winner, the team of Hartmann, Wieland, and Vargo, provides an innovative conceptual and theoretical framework for the sales function by drawing on diverse insights from the marketing, sociological, and organizational literatures.

This new perspective makes a compelling case that selling and value creation unfold over time and are embedded in broader social systems. The innovative conceptualization provides insight into the long existing debate amongst practitioners and scholars regarding what selling is, how salespeople partake in value creation, and the changing importance of salespeople over time. The framework establishes a deeper understanding of the actors, relationships, processes, and institutions that scaffold exchange and value creation and, consequently, anchors research on sales at the heart of the marketing discipline.

Learn more about the Shelby D. Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award as well as this year’s finalists.

H. Paul Root/Marketing Science Institute Award

Video Content Marketing: The Making of Clips
Xuan Liu, Savannah Wei Shi, Thales Teixeira, and Michel Wedel

The MSI/H. Paul Root Award celebrates research that makes a significant contribution to the advancement of the practice of marketing in a calendar year. This year’s winner applies cutting-edge marketing models to a challenge that is both highly relevant to contemporary markets and likely to gain further relevance in the future—video content marketing.

Liu, Shi, Teixeira and Wedel’s article is the first to propose a formal optimization approach to produce short video clips from existing video material and to study the effectiveness of these clips at generating consumer response. As video stimuli become ever more popular and as attention spans become shorter, short video clips will likely gain prominence in the marketer’s toolkit. Rather than simply examine the impact of existing marketing stimuli on consumer response, the optimization approach developed in this paper helps firms design new stimuli to generate emotional and commercial responses among consumers. The approach proposed in the paper has already been applied to and validated in real-world contexts and is highly scalable across contexts.

Learn more about the H. Paul Root/Marketing Science Institute Award as well as this year’s finalists.

The Journal of Marketing (JM) develops and disseminates knowledge about real-world marketing questions useful to scholars, educators, managers, policy makers, consumers, and other societal stakeholders around the world. It is the premier outlet for substantive research in marketing. Since its founding in 1936, JM has played a significant role in shaping the content and boundaries of the marketing discipline. The Journal honors top articles annually with awards presented at the AMA Summer Academic Conference.

Matt Weingarden, Vice President, Communities & Journals, leads the diverse team that supports the AMA’s network of community leaders from its three broad communities and four scholarly journals.