Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Hartmann, Wieland, and Vargo Receive 2018 Hunt/Maynard Award

Matt Weingarden

Nathaniel N. Hartmann, Heiko Wieland, and Stephen L. Vargo’s article, “Converging on a New Theoretical Foundation for Selling” from the March 2018 issue of the Journal of Marketing has been named the 2018
Shelby D. Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award. The Hunt/Maynard Award recognizes a Journal of Marketing article that makes a significant contribution to marketing theory in a calendar year.

Finalists were selected by JM’s AEs, ERB, and Advisory Board. The winning article was selected by a committee comprised of Coeditors and Advisory Board members.

This year’s winner provides an innovative conceptual and theoretical framework for the sales function by drawing on diverse insights from the marketing, sociological, and organizational literatures.

This new perspective makes a compelling case that selling and value creation unfold over time and are embedded in broader social systems. The innovative conceptualization provides insight into the long existing debate amongst practitioners and scholars regarding what selling is, how salespeople partake in value creation, and the changing importance of salespeople over time. The framework establishes a deeper understanding of the actors, relationships, processes, and institutions that scaffold exchange and value creation and, consequently, anchors research on sales at the heart of the marketing discipline.


Hunt/Maynard Award Finalists

The New Regulator in Town: The Effect of Walmart’s Sustainability Mandate on Supplier Shareholder Value
Katrijn Gielens, Inge Geyskens, Barbara Deleersnyder, and Max Nohe

Marketing Channel Management by Multinational Corporations in Foreign Markets
Rajdeep Grewal, Amit Saini, Alok Kumar, F. Robert Dwyer, and Robert Dahlstrom

“Offerings as Digitalized Interactive Platforms: A Conceptual Framework and Implications”
Venkat Ramaswamy and Kerimcan Ozcan

Matt Weingarden, Vice President, Communities & Journals, leads the diverse team that supports the AMA’s network of community leaders from its three broad communities and four scholarly journals.