Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Erin Anderson Award for an Emerging Female Marketing Scholar and Mentor

The Erin Anderson Award recognizes emerging female marketing scholars and mentors, while honoring and celebrating the life of Erin Anderson.  Erin was a widely respected mentor and scholar whose research made significant contributions to the marketing discipline.

To honor Erin and support her passion for encouraging women in academe, the Erin Anderson Award recognizes a female marketing scholar we anticipate becoming a leading marketing academic in the mold of Erin Anderson.


Female marketing professors who received their marketing (or related field) doctoral degree in or after the 2008 calendar year may be nominated or self-nominate. The criteria for the award focus on what made Erin Anderson unique in the academic world:

  • Research: The recipient should be a woman who is an emerging research star in her area of expertise, as evidenced by her publication record and the impact of those publications on marketing thought.
  • Mentoring: The recipient should be someone who has exceeded the normal expectations for someone of her rank in mentoring doctoral students or junior faculty members.

The award is presented annually at the AMA Winter Academic Conference.

Application Process

All nominations must be made online by clicking on the “Nominate” button at the top of this page and all materials must be submitted at one time.

This award has a two-part award process:

  • To submit a nomination, please include the nominee’s current vita and a personal letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications for the award. The letter should contain a section on research as well as mentoring activities (such as the number of doctoral students advised, faculty mentoring programs, etc). If selected, the nominee should be available to accept her award in person at the 2019 AMA Winter Academic Conference.​​​​​​​​
  • Once the nomination deadline closes, the award committee will select up to four finalists. At this time, nominees will be notified, asked to accept their nomination and have the opportunity to submit supporting documentation. If selected, the nominee should be available to accept her award in person at the 2019 AMA Winter Academic Conference.

A panel consisting of a mix of award recipients and marketing educators will serve on the selection committee.  All judges will be leaders and experts in the field of marketing with careers as marketing academics, consultants or resesarchers.


We, and many others in the marketing community, were deeply saddened by the unexpected death of Erin Anderson in 2007. After winning a battle against cancer earlier that year, her untimely passing away robbed her of the opportunity to enjoy her victory.

During her career, she published over forty scholarly articles in the top academic journals. Her paper on the role of pledges in channel relationships was the first recipient of the Louis Stern Award selected and presented by the AMA IOSIG. Based on her citations, she was in the top one and a half percent of researchers in the social sciences.

But Erin was more than a top-notch academic scholar. She was a caring mentor to many Ph.D. students and faculty members. She was a much-loved Ph.D. supervisor and she shared her experiences and insights with many faculty members as they launched their academic careers. Our discipline suffers when such a kind and caring person is no longer in our midst.

One of Erin’s primary interests was encouraging and enabling women in academe; she mentored many junior faculty as they launched their academic careers. To honor Erin and support her interests, the Erin Anderson Award for a female marketing scholar– a woman who we anticipate becoming a leading marketing academic in the mold of Erin Anderson, who went beyond her significant research contributions to help others develop their careers, was established.

Recognition and Benefits

The recipient of the 2019 award will receive a cash prize, a complimentary conference registration, and a plaque/award. It is expected that the recipient will give a brief acceptance speech at the AMA Academic Winter Conference award lunch.

AMA Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of the AMA, the AMA Foundation champions individual marketers who are making an impact in our profession and community.  We recognize marketing visionaries who have elevated the field, and we support the next generation of marketers who will transform the profession.

Past Winners

Anat Keinan
Jakurski Family Associate
Professor of Business Administration in the Marketing Unit
Harvard Business School
Nidhi Agarwal
Michael G. Foster Endowed Professor
Professor of Marketing
Foster School of Business
University of Washington
Cait Lamberton
Ben L. Fryrear Faculty Fellow and
Associate Professor of Marketing
Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business
Catherine Tucker
Mark Hyman Jr. Career Development Professor and Associate Professor of Management Science
MIT Sloan School of Management

Jennifer Argo
George M. Cormie Professor of Marketing
Business Economics and Law
University of Alberta

Andrea C. Morales
Associate Professor of Marketing
W.P. Carey School of Business
Arizona State University

Natalie Mizik
Associate Professor of Marketing
Sarah Graham Kenan Scholar
University of North Carolina

Rebecca W. Hamilton
Associate Professor of Marketing
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland

Wendy W. Moe
Associate Professor of Marketing
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland

Raji Srinivasan
Associate Professor of Marketing
Red McCombs School of Business
University of Texas at Austin

Help support blah, blah, blah