Skip to Content Skip to Footer
AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

Irwin McGraw Hill

The AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education.


All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over an extended period of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should be submitted in electronic form and should include:

  • A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession (please include a citation count from Web of Science and Google Scholar).
  • ​​​A current curriculum vita for the nominee.​
  • In addition to the nomination letter, the nominator must submit a one-page summary of the nominee’s citations that includes:
    • Total Web of Science citation count
    • Total Google Scholar Count
    • A list of the nominee’s ten most-cited publications (based on Google Scholar), with both the Google Scholar and Web of Science citation count for each article, ideally with links to articles for ease of access

Six criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  1. ​General Creativity/Innovativeness
  2. Administrative Contributions 
  3. Teaching and Mentoring
  4. Public Service
  5. Research Contributions
  6. Service to the Marketing Profession

The Irwin Award Committee will select a winner from the nominations received.

Nominations Are Due October 25, 2022.

Complete your nomination through Submittable.

Recognition and Benefits

The award will be presented at the 2023 AMA Winter Academic Conference. This will mark the 39th annual presentation of the award. 

Carryover Policy

It is committee policy to evaluate a nominee three times – the year initially nominated and the following two years. Thus, individuals who were nominated for the 2021 and 2022 Irwin Award will be automatically considered for the 2023 Irwin Award and do not need to be re-nominated.

AMA Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of the AMA, the AMA Foundation champions individual marketers who are making an impact in our profession and community.  We recognize marketing visionaries who have elevated the field, and we support the next generation of marketers who will transform the profession.

Past Winners

2022- Eli Jones, Professor of Marketing, Lowry and Peggy Mays Eminent Scholar, Mays Business School, Texas A&M

2021- Jan-Benedict Steenkamp, Knox Massey Distinguished Professor of Marketing, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2020-​Gerard Tellis, Director of the Institute for Outlier Research in Business and Professor of Marketing University of Southern California Marshall School of Business

2019- Michel Wedel, PepsiCo Chaired Professor of Consumer Science, Department of Marketing, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland.

2018- Christine Moorman​, T. Austin Finch, Sr. Professor of Business Administration, The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University. 
2017 – Ajay K. Kohli, Professor of Marketing, Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair, Georgia Tech Scheller College of Business.
2016 – Ruth N. Bolton, Professor of Marketing, W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University.
2015 – Rajan Varadarajan, University Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Regents Professor, holder of the Ford Chair in Marketing and E-Commerce, Mays Business School,Texas A&M University.
2014 – Leigh McAlister, Ed and Molly Smith Chair in Business Administration and Professor of Marketing in the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin.
2013 – Robert F. Lusch, Executive Director of the McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship, James and Pamela Muzzy Chair in Entrepreneurship & Innovation, Eller College of Management, University of Arizona.
2012 – Roland T. Rust, Distinguished University Professor and David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland.
2011 – Russell D. Winer, William Joyce Professor and Chair of the Department of Marketing, Stern School of Business, New York University.
2010 – Richard J. Lutz, JCPenney Professor of Marketing, Warrington College of Business Administration, University of Florida.
2009 – Valarie Zeithaml, David S. Van Pelt Family Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
2008 – Gary L. Lilien, Distinguished Research Professor of Management Science and the Research Director of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets (ISBM), the Pennsylvania State University.
2007 – Leonard L. Berry, M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership and Professor of Humanities in Medicine, Texas A&M University.
2006 – Robert A. Peterson, Charles T. Stuart III Centennial Chair, University of Texas at Austin.
2005 – Kent B. Monroe, J. M. Jones Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois.
2004 – Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University.
2003 – George S. Day, Geoffrey T. Boisi Professor of Marketing, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.
2002 – Donald G. Morrison, William E. Leonhard Chair in Management Professor of Marketing, University of California, Los Angeles.
2001 – William L. Wilkie, Aloysius and Eleanor Nathe Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame.
2000 – James R. Bettman, Burlington Industries Professor of Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University.
1999 – Donald R. Lehmann, George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia University.
1998 – Barton A. Weitz, JC Penney Eminent Scholar in Retailing and Chair, Marketing Department, University of Florida.
1997 – William D. Perreault, Jr., William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor of Business Administration, the  Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hil​l.
1996 – Richard Staelin, Edward and Rose Donnell Professor of Business Administration and Area Coordinator for Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University.
1995 – Richard P. Bagozzi, Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing and Behavioral Science in Management, The University of Michigan, School of Business Administration.
1994 – Louis W. Stern, John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University.
1993 – Yoram (Jerry) Wind, Lauder Professor and Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
1992 – Shelby D. Hunt, Paul Whitfield, Horn Professor of Marketing, Texas Tech University.
1991 – Paul R. Green, S.S. Kresge Professor of Marketing, University of Pennsylvania.
1990 – Frank M. Bass, University of Texas System Eugene McDermott Professor of Management, University of Texas-Dallas.
1989 – Gerald Zaltman, Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Marketing, Harvard University.
1998 – Sidney J. Levy, the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing and Chairman, Marketing Department, Northwestern University.
1987 – William Lazer, Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University.
1986 – Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr., Arthur C. Nielson Jr. Chair of Marketing Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
1985 – Philip Kotler, the S.C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University​​​​​.