AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

What is the AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award?

The AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education.

Nomination Deadline: October 5, 2018


All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over an extended period of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Application Process

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should be submitted in electronic form and should include:

  • A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession.
  • A current curriculum vita for the nominee.
Six criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  1. ​General Creativity/Innovativeness
  2. Administrative Contributions
  3. Teaching and Mentoring
  4. Public Service
  5. Research Contributions
  6. Service to the Marketing Profession
Judging Process

The Irwin Award Committee will select a winner from the nominations received. Electonic copies should be sent by October 5, 2018 to the chair of the Irwin Award Committee:

Richard J. Lutz
JCPenney Professor and Department Chair
Department of Marketing
Warrington College of Business
University of Florida
Tel: (352) 273-3273

Recognition and Benefits

It will be presented at the 2019 AMA Winter Academic Conference. This year marks the 35th annual presentation of the award. 

Carryover Policy

It is committee policy to evaluate a nominee three times - the year initially nominated and the following two years. Thus, individuals who were nominated for the 2017 and 2018 Irwin Award will be automatically considered for the 2019 Irwin Award and do not need to be re-nominated.

Past Recipients

2018- Chrisine Moorman, T. Austin Finch, Sr. Professor of Business Administration, The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University 

2017 - Ajay K. Kohli, Professor of Marketing, Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair, Georgia Tech Scheller College of Business.

2016 - Ruth N. Bolton, Professor of Marketing, W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University.

2015 - Rajan Varadarajan, University Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Regents Professor, holder of the Ford Chair in Marketing and E-Commerce, Mays Business School,Texas A&M University.

2014 - Leigh McAlister, Ed and Molly Smith Chair in Business Administration and Professor of Marketing in the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin.
2013 - Robert F. Lusch, Executive Director of the McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship, James and Pamela Muzzy Chair in Entrepreneurship & Innovation, Eller College of Management, University of Arizona.

2012 - Roland T. Rust, Distinguished University Professor and David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland.

2011 - Russell D. Winer, William Joyce Professor and Chair of the Department of Marketing, Stern School of Business, New York University.

2010 - Richard J. Lutz, JCPenney Professor of Marketing, Warrington College of Business Administration, University of Florida.

2009 - Valarie Zeithaml, David S. Van Pelt Family Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

2008 - Gary L. Lilien, Distinguished Research Professor of Management Science and the Research Director of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets (ISBM), the Pennsylvania State University.

2007 - Leonard L. Berry, M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership and Professor of Humanities in Medicine, Texas A&M University.

2006 - Robert A. Peterson, Charles T. Stuart III Centennial Chair, University of Texas at Austin

2005 - Kent B. Monroe, J. M. Jones Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois.

2004 - Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University

2003 - George S. Day, Geoffrey T. Boisi Professor of Marketing, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

2002 - Donald G. Morrison, William E. Leonhard Chair in Management Professor of Marketing, University of California, Los Angeles

2001 - William L. Wilkie, Aloysius and Eleanor Nathe Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame

2000 - James R. Bettman, Burlington Industries Professor of Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

1999 - Donald R. Lehmann, George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia University

1998 - Barton A. Weitz, JC Penney Eminent Scholar in Retailing and Chair, Marketing Department, University of Florida

1997 - William D. Perreault, Jr., William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor of Business Administration, the Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

1996 - Richard Staelin, Edward and Rose Donnell Professor of Business Administration and Area Coordinator for Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

1995 - Richard P. Bagozzi, Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing and Behavioral Science in Management, The University of Michigan, School of Business Administration

1994 - Louis W. Stern, John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

1993 - Yoram (Jerry) Wind, Lauder Professor and Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

1992 - Shelby D. Hunt, Paul Whitfield, Horn Professor of Marketing, Texas Tech University

1991 - Paul R. Green, S.S. Kresge Professor of Marketing, University of Pennsylvania

1990 - Frank M. Bass, University of Texas System Eugene McDermott Professor of Management, University of Texas-Dallas

1989 - Gerald Zaltman, Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Marketing, Harvard University

1998 - Sidney J. Levy, the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing and Chairman, Marketing Department, Northwestern University

1987 - William Lazer, Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University

1986 - Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr., Arthur C. Nielson Jr. Chair of Marketing Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison

1985 - Philip Kotler, the S.C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University​​​​​
​​​ ​​ ​
Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.