Skip to Content Skip to Footer

2020 Hans B. Thorelli Award

Leonidas C. Leonidou, Saeed Samiee, Bilge Aykol, and Michael A. Talias have been selected as the recipients of the annual Hans B. Thorelli Award for their article, “Antecedents and Outcomes of Exporter–Importer Relationship Quality: Synthesis, Meta-Analysis, and Directions for Further Research,” which appeared in the June 2014 issue (Vol. 22, No 2) of Journal of International Marketing.

The award honors a Journal of International Marketing article published 5+ years ago that has made the most significant and long-term contribution to international marketing theory or practice. Eligible articles are those published in or before 2014. The committee overseeing the selection process comprised Ahbijit Guha (University of South Carolina), Narongsak (Tek) Thongpapanl (Brock University), and Katharina Zeugner-Roth (IESEG School of Management).

The committee stated,

Across 76 studies involving exporter-importer (E-I) relationships, this paper uses meta-analytic methods to examine the linkage between antecedents of relationship quality, relationship quality, and outcomes/ consequences of relationship quality.  It contributes to theory by identifying core constructs in the E-I literature by developing an integrative model for relationship quality as applicable to the E-I domain and by highlighting the importance of studying both economic and behavioral aspects of exchange relationships.

The award will be presented at the AMA Summer Academic Conference held on August 21–23 in San Francisco.