Skip to Content Skip to Footer
O’Dell Award Renamed Weitz-Winer-O’Dell Award

O'Dell Award Renamed Weitz-Winer-O'Dell Award

Established in 1979, the William F. O’Dell Award recognizes the Journal of Marketing Research article published five years previously that has made the most significant long-term contribution to marketing theory, methodology, and/or practice.

In September 2019, this award was renamed the Weitz-Winer-O’Dell award to honor two additional marketing research luminaries, Barton Weitz and Russell Winer.

Meet Barton Weitz and Russell Winer

Barton A. Weitz was an emeritus professor of Marketing at the University of Florida where he was also the founding director of the Miller Retail Center. A globally recognized authority, Weitz’s research incorporated many topics within the discipline, but he became most recognized for his work in retail research. In honor of his outstanding research Weitz received the AMA’s MSI/Root Award, the AMA IOSIG’s Stern Award, and three AMA SIG lifetime achievement awards. Weitz served the American Marketing Association as editor of the Journal of Marketing Research, was a member of the Task Force on the Development of Marketing Thought, and served a one-year term as chair of the AMA Board of Directors in 2002. He previously was on the faculties of the University of California at Los Angeles and University of Pennsylvania. He earned a BSEE degree from MIT and an MBA and PhD from Stanford University.

Russell S. Winer is the William Joyce Professor of Marketing at New York University. A leading scholar in the study of customer relationship management, Winer’s research has crossed the discipline exploring the intersection of technology and marketing. Among his accomplishments, Professor Winer served two terms as the editor of the Journal of Marketing Research, is a past Executive Director of the Marketing Science Institute, is a founding Fellow of both the INFORMS Society for Marketing Science and the American Marketing Association. He was named the AMA-Irwin-McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator award in 2011. He has previously been on the faculties of Columbia and Vanderbilt universities and the University of California at Berkeley. He received a B.A. in Economics from Union College and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Industrial Administration from Carnegie Mellon University.

Thank You to Our Donors!

This award was renamed thanks to the generosity of the following donors:

Roger Adams Don Lehmann
Anocha Aribarg Rich Lutz
Stacy Armijo Murali Mantrala
Lisa Bolton Leigh McAlister
Eric Bradlow Brent McFerran
Randy Bucklin Martin Mende
Pierre Chandon Vikas Mittal
William Cron Susan Mudambi
Alan Dick Eitan Muller
Michelle Elster Ram Rao
Tulin Erdem Vithala Rao
Fred Feinberg John Roberts
George Franke Venkatesh Shankar
Aline Gatignon Jag Sheth
Avi Goldfarb Itamar Simonson
Shyam Gopinath Harish Sujan
Rajdeep Grewal Claudia Townsend
Sandy Jap Qiong Wang
Kinshuk Jerath Toby Winer
Kevin Keller Karen Winterich
Ajay Kohli Carolyn Yoon

To learn more about the Weitz-Winer-O’Dell Award, please visit the award page.