Skip to Content Skip to Footer
AMA hall of fame inductees

Marketers at Adobe, Unilever and DDB Inducted into 2019 Marketing Hall of Fame

Hal Conick

AMA hall of fame inductees

The American Marketing Association New York announced its 2019 inductees to the Marketing Hall of Fame, including marketers from Adobe, Unilever and DDB Worldwide

The American Marketing Association New York announced its 2019 inductees to the Marketing Hall of Fame.

This year, the inductees are:

  • Keith Weed, chief marketing and communications officer at Unilever
  • Ann Lewnes, executive VP and CMO at Adobe
  • Wendy Clark, global CEO at DDB Worldwide.

The three inductees will be honored at the 2019 Marketing Hall of Fame induction ceremony on April 16 at the R/GA headquarter offices in New York City. Inductees will give a brief presentation and offer their views on the future of marketing. Tickets to the event are available here.

Those inducted into the Marketing Hall of Fame are recognized as marketers who have “dramatically impacted business results, raised the profile of the profession or moved marketing forward through their use of breakthrough approaches,” according to the AMA New York.


“The Marketing Hall of Fame’s purpose is to help build marketing’s future by recognizing our most admired colleagues for the brilliant ways in which they have advanced our profession,” says Joanna Seddon, Marketing Hall of Fame co-chair and president of brand consulting at Ogilvy. “It’s an honor for us to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of Keith Weed, Ann Lewnes and Wendy Clark, who together have helped to elevate marketing to its rightful place—in the boardroom.”

Previous inductees into the Marketing Hall of Fame include:

  • David Aaker, an academic and author
  • Gary Briggs, Facebook’s former CMO
  • Yvon Chouinard, founder of Patagonia
  • Seth Godin, author and speaker
  • Shelly Lazarus, Ogilvy & Mather chairman emeritus
  • Philip Kotler, author and professor

Each year, more than 200 marketers are nominated for the Marketing Hall of Fame before shortening the list to 50 nominees. The shortlist is then voted on by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, which AMA New York says is “an exclusive, invitation-only body of 200 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the committee and AMA New York Board of Directors, who cast ballots to determine the 12 finalists.”

“We are very proud that the Marketing Hall of Fame has become one of the premier events in the marketing community,” said Robert Kahn, Marketing Hall of Fame committee co-chair, AMA New York past president and SVP business development at Elateral. “Once again, we have a star-studded list of extraordinary talents to celebrate, all of whom truly represent the pinnacle of leadership and innovation in our field. It will be inspiring to have these three legendary marketing luminaries all on one stage, hear from them and be inspired by them, on one special evening.”

Hal Conick is a freelance writer for the AMA’s magazines and e-newsletters. He can be reached at halconick@gmail.com or on Twitter at @HalConick.