Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Call for Nominations - Editor in Chief | Journal of Marketing Research

Matt Weingarden

The American Marketing Association is seeking nominations and applications for the Editor in Chief designate of Journal of Marketing Research (JMR). The AMA founded the journal to address a gap in scholarly research for work that pushed methodological boundaries, and it has evolved into a premier platform welcoming articles making theoretical, substantive, and/or methodological contributions.

The Editor in Chief (EIC) will serve a three-year term resulting in the publication of the 2024–2026 calendar-year volumes of the journal. The EIC designate will begin review of new manuscripts beginning on or about April 15, 2023. The EIC leads a diverse team of editors, associate editors, and editorial reviewers to guide the journal.


Qualifications and major criteria for evaluating candidates are the following:
1. Recognized authority in the area of marketing
2. Evidence of outstanding reviewing service at Journal of Marketing Research and/or similar journals
3. Evidence of administrative ability
4. Evidence of commitment to the values of the American Marketing Association
5. Evidence of commitment to further enhance the stature of the Journal of Marketing Research
6. Willingness to make the time commitment
7. Commitment by the potential EIC’s employer for resource support
8. Agreement to operate within AMA policies and strategic guidelines

Further information about Journal of Marketing Research may be obtained at

Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted in a letter of no more than two pages by August 1, 2022, to Ron Hill at with a copy to Matt Weingarden at There is no need to provide the names of potential co-editors/associate editors during this initial phase of the nomination process. The letter of nomination should provide details of the qualifications of the nominee. Ideally, the willingness of a nominee to serve will be determined prior to submission of a letter of nomination.

The Selection Committee will contact all nominated EIC candidates to ascertain their interest in being considered for the position. Following a review of the credentials of the interested EIC nominees, the committee will invite three or four EIC finalists to submit a more detailed final-round proposal.

Under current AMA policy, the Selection Committee consists of AMA’s Vice President for Publications (Chair), a past editor of JMR, a representative of AMA’s Academic Council, three at-large members, and a member of AMA’s professional publications staff. This year’s committee consists of Ron Hill (chair), Raj Grewal (former editor), Koen Pauwels (AMA Academic Council President), Rebecca Slotegraaf (at-large member), Michel Wedel (at-large member), Rebecca Reczek (at-large member), and Matt Weingarden and Marilyn Stone (AMA professional publications staff).

Questions related to the nomination and search process should be directed to:
Matt Weingarden
AMA Vice President, Communities & Journals

Matt Weingarden, Vice President, Communities & Journals, leads the diverse team that supports the AMA’s network of community leaders from its three broad communities and four scholarly journals.