Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Teaching and Learning SIG

Our mission is the advancement of marketing education. To accomplish this mission, we do a variety of activities. At the AMA educator conferences, we host socials and run special sessions on current topics in marketing education. In partnership with Marketplace Simulations, we hold a competition and award the most innovative marketing educator in our field. We announce the winner​ of the award during the AMA Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference.

In order to provide our members with critical resources for their achievement, we post the call for papers and other specials relevant to academia from the journal Marketing Education Review. We also post links for Teaching Tips courtesy of The Institute for Learning and Teaching (TILT) at Colorado State University.

Marketplace Simulations Innovation in Marketing Education Award

The Teaching & Learning Special Interest Group, in partnership with Marketplace Simulations, conducts an annual competition to recognize innovative excellence in marketing education. This competition provides a forum for outstanding educators to share their classroom innovations with colleagues from around the world. 

Innovative excellence refers to the novelty, quality and demonstrated impact of a pedagogical innovation that advances the discipline of marketing education by overcoming challenges in current or traditional approaches to course delivery. 

The competition is open to any full-time marketing educator who is also a member of the American Marketing Association. Submissions will be reviewed and evaluated by a panel of judges, and the three finalists will present their innovations at a Special Awards Session at the Winter Marketing Educator’s Conference in Florida. Following the presentations, the winner and two runners-up will be announced by the award sponsors and the leadership of the Teaching & Learning SIG. 

The winner of the Innovation in Marketing Education Award will receive a plaque and a $1000 award from Marketplace Simulations, and the two runners-up will each receive an award of $250.  

All applications shall be submitted electronically to Matthew Wilson, AMA Teaching & Learning SIG Chair, at

The 2024 Call for Applications/Nominations can be found here

Previous Winners

2023: Aidin Namin, Loyola Marymount University

2018: Christy Ashley, University of Rhode Island

2017: Lauren S. Beitelspacher, Babson College

2016: Jane Sojka, University of Cincinnati 

2015: Madhu Viswanathan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2014: Anne Roggeveen, Babson College 

2013: Victoria Crittenden, Babson College

Teaching and Learning Chair:
Matthew Wilson
University of Windsor

Adam Mills
Loyola University, New Orleans

Karen Robson
University of Windsor

April Kemp
Southeastern Louisiana University