Skip to Content Skip to Footer




The mission of SERVSIG is to be the best full-service system for keeping in touch with the people, events, and knowledge of services marketing and management. SERVSIG has adopted three goals: Open, Flexible, and Fun. First, we strive to be open to new people, new ideas, global contributions, interdisciplinary contributions, practitioner contributions, and to new ways of doing things. Second, we strive for the maximum of organizational flexibility. Third, we strive to be a fun organization by being both lighthearted and intellectually nourishing.


SERVSIG’s annual budget is determined by the size of our membership, so we need your help if we are to continue to support the services marketing community. There are two ways to join SERVSIG and support all of our great activities. (1)  When you join the AMA, you are allowed to join one special interest group for free. If you are interested in supporting SERVSIG, then please check the Service box under the Special Interest Groups section of the AMA application. (2) If you are already a member of AMA, then you need to renew your application each year. To support SERVSIG, please select “Service” as your SIG on the renewal application.

Additional Benefits

SERVNET is a moderated electronic mail network for services marketing academics. SERVNET is designed to facilitate the sharing of ideas and to help others find answers to questions about services marketing. It is a free service offered to SERVSIG and those interested in services marketing issues through cooperation with Arizona State University’s Center for Services Leadership.

Facebook: Join SERVSIG on Facebook! Members can post and comment on updates, chat with everyone at once, schedule group events, create shared docs, and more.

SERVSIG’s Service Doctoral Consortium: This consortium is designed to help doctoral students and new faculty in their academic careers as teachers and researchers of services marketing. By promoting a collegial atmosphere, the Consortium provides a wonderful opportunity to interact with the field’s leading scholars and up-and-coming services marketing scholars.

For more information, visit the SERVSIG Website.


Liam Glynn Research Scholarship Award Winners

SERVSIG and the ASU Center for Services Leadership give emerging services scholars the opportunity to attend the Services Doctoral Consortium and the Frontiers in Services Conference. The first Director of the UCD Centre for Quality and Services Management, Liam Glynn published services marketing articles in France, Ireland, Italy, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Co-editor of Understanding Services Management in 1995, he was the Membership Coordinator for SERVSIG and co-chaired the first SERVSIG Conference on services research in 1999. SERVSIG created an annual travel scholarship in Liam’s name to honor his memory.

Previous Winners

2019 – Jonathan Beck, Amjad Shamim, Dorottya Varga, Maarten Volkers

2018 – Yupal Skukla, Delphine Caruelle

2017 – Simon Hazee (Finalist: Janthorn Sinthupundaja, Leonhard Mandl)

2016 – Amjad Shamim, Kaisa Kaskela Huatari, Kotaiba Aal

2015 – Anna Girard, Anne Grego-Nagel, Francisco Villarroel-Ordenes, Kristina Lindsey Hall

2014 – Laura Colm, Arne De Keyser, Edy Herman Mulyono, Linda Nasr

2013 – Ben Lucas, Eric Olson, Neha Sadhotra, and Yi-Chun Ou

Christopher Lovelock Career Contributions Award Winners

The “Christopher Lovelock Career Contributions to the Services Discipline Award” is presented annually by SERVSIG to the individual whose teaching, research and service have had the greatest long-term impact on the development of the services discipline. Career contributions of the candidates should be of long duration, preferably 15 to 20 years. Contributions to the services discipline should be significant, frequent, and include recent contributions.

Previous Winners

2020 – Steve Vargo (University of Hawaii)

2019 – Jochen Wirtz (National University of Singapore)

2018 – Anders Gustafsson (BI-Norwegian Business School, Norway; Karlstad Business School, Sweden)

2017 – Tim Keiningham (St. John’s University, USA)

2016 – Michael K. Brady (Florida State University, USA)

2015 – Katherine N. Lemon (Boston College, USA)

2014 – Dwayne D. Gremler (Bowling Green State University, USA)

2013 – Paul Patterson (University of New South Wales, Australia)

SERVSIG Best Dissertation Award in Service Research Winner

The Department of Marketing & Supply Chain Management at Maastricht University in the Netherlands, has a strong reputation in the field of Services Marketing, which has been the main focus since its inception. Maastricht University is proud to be recognized as a top marketing department by the global research cooperations on state-of-the-art service research and by the different research awards that Maastricht cherishes. The Service Science Factory at Maastricht University brings together business and academia to help organizations differentiate themselves through innovative services and to validate academic service research with different external non-academic stakeholders.

Previous Winners

2020 – Josina Vink – Institute of Design at the Oslo School of Architecture and Design, Norway

2019 – Anne-Madeleine Kranzbühler – Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

2018 – Leonhard Mandl – Catholic University Eichstaett

2017 – Alexander Henkel – Open University, The Netherlands
Finalist: Robert Ciuchita, Danilo Brozović

2016 – Arne De Keyser – EDHEC Business School
Finalist: Michelle Andrews, Mina Rohani

SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award

The Emerging Service Scholar Award recognizes contributions to advancing the study of service research, and will be given annually to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of his or her academic career. The award is given annually and is presented at the Frontiers in Services Conference. The award was initiated by the digital media lab @ UMass Boston and granted by the University of Porto

Granted by the University of Porto

2020 – Linda Hollebeek – Montpellier Business School

2019 – Jan Schumann – University of Passau

2018 – Nancy Siriani – University of Alabama

2017 – Martin Mende – Florida State University

2016 – Bart Larivière – Ghent University

2015 – Elisabeth Brüggen and Clay Voorhees


Bart Larivière,Ghent University

Linda Nasr, Texas State University – San Marcos

Immediate Past Chair
Lerzan Aksoy, Fordham University

Sertan Kabadayi, Fordham University

Legacy Officer & SERVSIG Conference Curator, Founder of SERVSIG
Ray Fisk, Texas State University – San Marco

Communication & Community Development Officer
Werner Kunz, University of Massachusetts

Officer for Europe
Lisa Brüggen, Maastricht University

Co-Mentoring Officer
Stephanie Noble, University of Tennesse

Co-Mentoring Officer
Yany Gregoire, HEC Montreal

Programs Officer & Officer for the Americas
Martin Mende, Florida State University

Officer for Australasia
Tom Chen, Newcastle University

Officer for Asia
Ming-Hui Huang, National Taiwan University