Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Awards: Marketing and Society SIG

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winners of this annual award have contributed a significant body of work in developing and advancing research in the Marketing and Society, Public Policy, and/or the Marketing Ethics areas. This award is given to individuals who exemplify outstanding scholarship in these fields. The MASSIG Lifetime Achievement Awards have been guided by and supported from their inception by Professors O.C. and Linda Ferrell, who deserve all of our thanks for their fine efforts.

Previous Winners

2020: Scot Burton, University of Arkansas

2019: Craig Andrews, Marquette University

2018: Jerome Williams, Rutgers University-Newark

2017: Michael Mazis, American University

2015: David Steward, Loyola Marymount University

2014: Debra Scammon, University of Utah

2013: Ronald Paul Hill, Villanova University

2012: Gene R. Laczniak, Marquette University

2011: Patrick E. Murphy, University of Notre Dame

2010: Paul Bloom, Duke University

2009: William L. Wilkie, University of Notre Dame

2008: Alan Andreasen, Georgetown University

Emerging Scholar in Marketing and Society Award

This award recognizes contributions to research advancing the study of Marketing and Society issues and will be given annually to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of his or academic career. 

Previous Winners

2020: Chris Berry, Colorado State University

2019: Stacey Finkelstein, Stony Brook University

2018: Christopher Newman, University of Mississippi 

2017: Martin Mende, Florida State University

2016: Brennan Davis, Cal Poly State University

2015: Justine Rapp, University of San Diego

2014: Maura Scott, Florida State University

2013: Beth Vallen, Villanova University

2012 (inaugural year): Kelly D. Martin, Colorado State University

The MASSIG Emerging Scholar award is given to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of their academic career who tackles societal issues of significance that substantially advance our understanding of these issues.

Recipients of this award must be MASSIG members in good standing and should be early in their career progression.

Selection Process:
Each year, a panel of three MASSIG members will be appointed by the MASSIG Chair to serve as a selection committee. The panel will solicit nominations from the MASSIG membership, and select the recipient of the award for their scholarly contributions to the marketing and society research area. Criteria to be used for determining contribution include problem significance, innovation, methodological rigor, and potential to substantially advance our understanding of this area.

To submit a nomination for the MASSIG Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research, nominators should provide:

  • A letter of nomination (maximum two pages; self-nominations are acceptable).
  • A current C.V. for the nominated scholar.
  • Up to three reprints of scholarly papers representative of the nominee’s contributions.
  • All materials need to be submitted electronically. 
  • Please note that anyone nominated this year will be automatically considered for the next two years as long as they continue to meet the eligibility criteria. 

More MASSIG Content


Join an AMA SIG