Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Awards: Interorganizational SIG

The Louis W. Stern Award

The Louis W. Stern Award, established by Louis W. and Rhona L. Stern in 1999 through the American Marketing Association Foundation, recognizes the outstanding article, in a widely recognized and highly respected refereed journal, which has made a significant contribution to the literature on marketing and channels distribution.

Previous Winners

2018: Shankar Ganesan, Steven P. Brown, Babu John Mariadoss, and Hillbun (Dixon) Ho., “Buffering and Amplifying Effects of Relationship Commitment in Business-to-Business Relationships” Journal of Marketing Research,  April 2010.

2017: Robert W. Palmatier, Cheryl Burke Jarvis, Jennifer R. Bechkoff, Frank R. Kardes. “The Role of Customer Gratitude in Relationship Marketing” Journal of Marketing, September 2009.

2016: Richard G. McFarland, James M. Bloodgood, and Janice M. Payan, “Supply Chain Contagion” Journal of Marketing, March 2008.

2015: Rajiv P. Dant, Dhruv Grewal, and Robert W. Palmatier, A Comparative Longitudinal Analysis of Theoretical Perspectives of Interorganizational Relationship Performance” Journal of Marketing, October 2007.

2014: Robert W. Palmatier, Lisa K. Scheer, and Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp, “Customer Loyalty to Whom? Managing the Benefits and Risks of Salesperson-Owned Loyalty” Journal of Marketing Research, May 2007.

2013: George John and Mrinal Ghosh, “Strategic Fit in Industrial Alliances: An Empirical Test of Governance Value Analysis” Journal of Marketing Research, August 2005.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees for the IOSIG Lifetime Achievement Award should demonstrate the following award criteria:

  • Long-term and significant contributions to various streams of interorganizational research such as channel management, interfirm alliances, buyer-seller relationships, and relationship marketing, among others. 
  • Sustained record of research excellence in the domain. 
  • Service to the Interorg academy and/or profession.

Nominations should be sent to the IOSIG chair and include a recent CV of the nominee along with a nomination letter of no more than 3 pages that addresses the criteria above

Previous Winners

2018: Lisa K. Scheer
2016: ​Sandy Jap
​2015: ​Shantanu Dutta
2014: ​Gary Lilien
2013: Bill Perreault, Jr​
2012: Jan Heide
2011: F. Robert Dwyer
2010: Gary Frazier and George John
​2009: Robert F. Lusch
2008: Erin Anderson
2007: Bart Weitz

More IOSIG Content


Join an AMA SIG