Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Awards: Consumer Behavior SIG

Awards: Consumer Behavior SIG

AMA CBSIG Lifetime Achievement Award

The CBSIG Lifetime Achievement award honors a marketing scholar who has contributed significantly to the field of consumer research. Past winners include Lynn Kahle, Jim Bettman, Richard Lutz, and Linda Price. Nominees (self‐nominees welcomed) must meet the following criteria:

  • Faculty in marketing, advertising or psychology
  • A significant body of work in developing and advancing consumer research
  • Articles in AMA journals
  • Active membership in AMA during the majority of one’s career

Previous Winners

2019: Gerald Zaltman, Harvard University
2018: Jagdish N. Sheth, Emory University
2017: Don Lehmann, Columbia University Graduate School of Business

AMA CBSIG Rising Star Award

The CBSIG Rising Star Award honors a doctoral student scholar who demonstrates a bright future in consumer behavior research. Nominees (self-­nominees welcomed) must meet the following criteria:

  • Advanced doctoral student or candidate in marketing, advertising or psychology in good standing at an AACSB university.
  • Demonstrated research productivity (e.g., presented a conference paper, published a journal article). An AMA conference or journal is plus.

Previous Winners

2019: Linying (Sophie) Fan, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
2018: Mansur Khamitov, Ivey Business School, Western University
2017-2016: Li Huang, University of South Carolina  (co-recipient)
2017-2016: Lauren Grewal, The University of Pittsburgh (co-recipient)

CBSIG Consumer Research in Practice Award

The CBSIG Consumer Research in Practice Award recognizes a scholarly consumer research article that contributes significantly to marketing practice.   The winning article must meet the following criteria:

  • Rigorous scholarly research
  • Addresses an important marketing managerial issue
  • An explicit objective of contributing to marketing practice
  • Strong and compelling marketing implications
  • Potential applicability across a range of products, services, and/or industries
  • Article must appeared in a refereed journal (including but not limited to Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of the Association for Consumer Research, and Journal of Consumer Psychology) from the calendar year two years previous.

Previous Winners

2019: Femke van Horn, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, and Rik Pieters, Tilburg University, for their article: “Out-of Category Brand Imitation: Product Categorization Determines Copycat Evaluation,” which appeared in the April 2017 issue of the Journal of Consumer Research.

2018 (Inaugural): Julio Sevilla, University of Georgia, and Claudia Townsend, University of Miami, for their article: “The Space-to-Product Ratio Effect: How Interstitial Space Influences Product Aesthetic Appeal, Store Perceptions, and Product Preference,” which appeared in the October 2016 issue of the Journal of Marketing Research.

More CB SIG Content


Join an AMA SIG