Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Ric Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award - Submission Process


Volunteers are the lifeblood of professional chapters. The American Marketing Association’s Ric Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year Awards (VOY) publicly honor our chapter volunteers for their outstanding leadership and their commitment to the American Marketing Association’s goals:

Who’s eligible?

Any volunteer with an American Marketing Association membership in good standing and currently serves or previously served on the board of their Professional Chapter is eligible.

What do these recognitions look like?

One outstanding volunteer is honored at Leadership Summit with an opportunity to speak and is featured on the AMA website.

How Do I Nominate Someone?

Complete this nomination form in Submittable by January 31, 2024. Please review the submission criteria for more information, such as what information is needed to nominate someone.

The Ric Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year Process and Judging Criteria:

While the nominations are submitted via Submittable, below are the questions asked, in case you want to prepare your nomination ahead of time. When you are ready, complete this nomination form here.


Person submitting this form:



Current board position held

Email address

Phone number


Person being nominated:



Current board position held

Past board positions held and/or committees served

Years of membership (can be an estimate)

Years of volunteer service (can be an estimate)

Email address

Phone number


Impact Letter:

How has the nominee either:

Significantly changed a life (i.e. mentorship), or

Significantly changed the chapter’s operations or culture.

Limit: 600 words.


Community Letter

How is this nominee viewed in the marketing community (can be either national or local)? Consider providing quotes from others and specific examples.

Limit: 800 words.


Those volunteers nominated for the Rick Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year award will be evaluated by a group of AMA judges using the following criteria outlined in this document.

If you have any questions, please contact Stephen Brent May, PCC National Awards Chair.