Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Ric Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year

The annual Ric Sweeney Chapter Volunteer of the Year (VOY) award recognizes and rewards outstanding professional chapter leaders whose contributions have added significantly to the goals of the American Marketing Association.

The award is named in honor of longtime AMA member and volunteer Ric Sweeney.  In addition to serving as Chairperson of the AMA Board of Directors, Sweeney served as President of the Professional Chapters Council (PCC) and the AMA Cincinnati Chapter. He volunteered on the AMA Audit & Finance Committee and AMA Foundation.​

Those named as the Volunteer of the Year receive the following benefits:

  • Honorary lifetime AMA membership
  • Announcement of the Volunteer of the Year at Leadership Summit
  • Commemorative plaque
  • Letter from the CEO


Past Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following recipients of the annual Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award! These members exemplify the AMA volunteer’s passion, talent, and determination.

2021: Robin Tooms (Houston Chapter)
2020: Angela Brutsche (Austin Chapte)
2019: Stacy Armijo (Austin Chapter) 
2018: Karen Albritton (Triangle Chapter)
2017: Evan Carroll (Triangle Chapter)
2016: Dennis Devlin (Cincinnati Chapter)
2015: Amy Gerhart Favreau (Richmond Chapter)
2014: Christine Mathers (Houston Chapter)
2013: Paul Stark (Chicago Chapter)
2012: Tom Dennis (Dallas/Ft. Worth Chapter)
2011: Myles Bristowe (Boston Chapter)
2010: Colin Hageney (Houston Chapter)
2009: Harvey John Morris (Chicago Chapter)
2008: Carol Shea (Cincinnati Chapter)
2007: Kimberly Guarino (Washington DC Chapter)
2006: Mary Ann Keeler (New York Capital Region Chapter)