4 Under 40 - Emerging Leaders Award

Nominations Open Now for the 2018 Award!​ (Nominations close April 3, 2018)

The AMA Emerging Leaders Award honors individuals who have already made significant contributions to the field of marketing and its sub-fields, and have demonstrated leadership and continuing service. The program is highly selective, with 4 individuals selected annually. Before submitting a nomination, please read carefully the following eligibility criteria.

Individuals may be nominated by another individual or organization, self-nominated, or nominated from within the American Marketing Association volunteer leadership.   

 Successful candidates:

  • Have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, and the advancement of Marketing in general or any sub-field (e.g., advertising; analytics; brand; channels; digital; insights; etc.).

  • Are passionate leaders who have a high potential for collaboration and success, including leading by example, mentoring, transferring knowledge, taking a risk to achieve a desired outcome and motivating others.

  • Are under 40 years of age at time of nomination

Nominations will be reviewed and winners will be selected by a committee drawn from the advisory councils of the American Marketing Association.

Winners will receive a complimentary registration to an AMA conference and will be recognized at the event.

Know any emerging leaders in the field of marketing who have made contributions to the field?  

Nominate them today!

Past Award Winners


Omar Abdala, Chief Data Scientist, Lotame

Barbara Martin Coppola, Chief Marketing Officer, Grubhub

Brad Messinger, Senior Vice President of Client Service & Marketing, Rise Interactive

Carrie Montagna, Senior Marketing Manager, McKesson


Jeff Green, Founder and CEO, The Trade Desk

Edward Jenkins, Chief Communications Officer, Center for Infectious Disease Research

Elyse Meyer, Founder & Marketing Consultant, Prism Global Marketing Solutions

Mike Seiman, CEO & Chairman, CPXi


Louis Cohen, SVP – Head of Search, Affiliate Marketing & Lead Generation, Citi

Kip Havel, VP, Communications and Content Marketing, Aflac

Andrew Reid, President, Founder, and Chief Product Officer, Vision Critical

Andres Zapata, EVP, Strategy, idfive, LLC​


Elea Feit, Executive Director, Wharton Customer Analytics Initiative, University of Pennsylvania

Dan Foreman, President, ESOMAR and CME, Lumi Mobile

Claudia Perlich, Chief Scientist, Media6Degrees

Natasha Stevens, VP, Digital Market Intelligence at GfK Custom Research North America


Phil Berry, President, Jibunu

Tom Ewing, Digital Culture Officer, BrainJuicer

Melissa Hobley, Chief Marketing Officer, Buyology

Alec Maki, Vice President, BehaviorLens business of InsightsNow


Amanda Durkee, Partner and Senior Research Consultant, Zanthus

Martijn van Kesteren, Manager of Consumer/Shopper Insights, Unilever Benelux

Pravin Shekar, Kreator-in-Chief, Krea

Orlando Wood, Managing Director, BranJuicer Labs


Tom Anderson, Founder and Managing Partner, Anderson Analytics

Tom De Ruyck, Senior R&D Manager, InSites Consulting

Nick Harrington, Principal Scientist, Procter & Gamble

Kristin Luck, President & CMO, Decipher

Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.