The Leonard L. Berry Marketing Book Award

What is the Leonard L. Berry Book Award?

The Berry-AMA Book Prize for the Best Book in Marketing recognizes books whose innovative ideas have had significant impact on marketing and related fields.  

Nomination Deadline: March 4, 2019




Exceptional marketing books that have set the standard for excellence and that have been published within the previous three years (2016, 2017 or 2018 for the 2019 Prize) are eligible for consideration.  Marketing books published overseas are eligible if the book was published in English and was available for distribution in the United States.  Anthologies, textbooks, and manuals are not eligible to receive the award.

Application Process

Nominations will close on March 4, 2019.  After this time, the committee will review the book summaries to decide which books are eligible for the award.

History of the Leonard L. Berry Book Prize

Created by distinguished author and professor Leonard L. Berry and his wife Nancy F. Berry through generous contributions to the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), the prize was awarded for the first time in Fall 2002.

“Both as reader and writer, books have had a powerful influence in my growth and development as a marketing educator,” says Berry, Distinguished Professor of Marketing and M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership in the Lowry Mays College of Business at Texas A&M University.  “Books open the door into a writer’s mind.  Authors assemble what might be years of research and thought into a small package we call a book and share new ideas and expression with readers for a small sum.  What a bargain.  This award is meant to celebrate the marvelous device we call a book and to encourage their creation and consumption in the marketing field.”

Berry, founder of Texas A&M’s Center for Retailing Studies, and a Visiting Scientist at Mayo Clinic studying healthcare service, has been identified as the most frequent contributor to the services marketing literature in the United States.

Judging Process

A panel consisting of a mix of marketing experts and practitioners will serve on the selection committee.  All judges will be leaders and experts in the field of marketing with careers as marketing academics, consultants, and practitioners. 

Recognition and Benefits
The Prize includes an award and publicity on appropriate AMA channels.

Interested in Donating? Click below:



Please contact Christine Germino at

Please click here to learn about previous award recipients. ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​
  • Editing Tools group. Tab 2 of 2.

  • Become a Member
    Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.