Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award

What is the Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award?

The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award is the oldest and most distinguished award in the field.  This award honors Charles Coolidge Parlin, the founder of market research. 



To be awarded the Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award, distinguished academics and practitioners must have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on advancing the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period of time.  Specifically, this impact might be reflected in one or more of the following:

  • New concepts, methods, and models for measurement and analysis that expand the capabilities of organizations to achieve a better understanding of markets, customers and consumers.
  • Creative integration of existing methodologies and an understanding of information needs resulting in more widespread use and/or appreciation of marketing research.
  • Demonstrated leadership resulting in stimulating the effective use and value of marketing research and market based knowledge.

History of the Charles Coolidge Parlin Award

The Charles Coolidge Parlin marketing research award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and The Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Company to honor persons who have made outstanding contributions to the field of marketing research.

Established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, who is recognized as a founder of marketing research, The Parlin Award is today a preeminent national honor.

Please be advised that the Parlin Board is only accepting nominees in the practitioner category for 2019. In addition, no self-nominations will be accepted.

Judging Process

A panel consisting of a mix of marketing experts will serve on the selection committee. All judges will be leaders and experts in the field of marketing with careers as marketing academics, consultants and practitioners.

Recognition and Benefits

The 74th Parlin Award will be presented at a future AMA event.


Please contact Christine Germino at

Please click here to learn about previous award recipients


Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.