Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Interorganizational SIG

Interorganizational SIG

The Interorganizational Special Interest Group (IOSIG) has as its goal to facilitate interaction among academic members of the AMA with an interest in channels of distribution, business-to-business marketing, supply chain management, logistics, and business alliances. IOSIG provides opportunities for learning, sharing, networking, and other professional interchange among members with these interests. 

The Louis W. Stern Award

The Louis W. Stern Award, established by Louis W. and Rhona L. Stern in 1999 through the American Marketing Association Foundation, recognizes the outstanding article, in a widely recognized and highly respected refereed journal, which has made a significant contribution to the literature on marketing and channels distribution.

Previous Winners

2023: Jonathan Zhang, George F. Watson IV, Robert W. Palmatier, and Rajiv Dant, “Dynamic Relationship Marketing,” Journal of Marketing, September 2016

2022: Anindita Chakravarty, Alok Kumar, and Rajdeep Grewal, “Customer Orientation Structure for Internet-Based Business-to-Business Platform Firms,” Journal of Marketing, September 2014

2021: Steven H. Seggie, David A. Griffith, and Sandy D. Jap, “Passive and Active Opportunism in Interorganizational Exchange,” Journal of Marketing, November 2013

2020: Jill Avery, Thomas Steenburgh, John Deighton, and Mary Caravella, “Adding Bricks to Clicks: Predicting the Patterns of Cross-Channel Elasticities over Time,” Journal of Marketing, May 2012

2019: Robert W. Palmatier, Mark B. Houston, Dhruv Grewal, Rajiv P. Dant, “Relationship Velocity: Toward a Theory of Relationship Dynamics,” Journal of Marketing, January 2013

2018: Shankar Ganesan, Steven P. Brown, Babu John Mariadoss, and Hillbun (Dixon) Ho, “Buffering and Amplifying Effects of Relationship Commitment in Business-to-Business Relationships,” Journal of Marketing Research, April 2010

2017: Robert W. Palmatier, Cheryl Burke Jarvis, Jennifer R. Bechkoff, and Frank R. Kardes, “The Role of Customer Gratitude in Relationship Marketing,” Journal of Marketing, September 2009

2016: Richard G. McFarland, James M. Bloodgood, and Janice M. Payan, “Supply Chain Contagion,” Journal of Marketing, March 2008

2015: Rajiv P. Dant, Dhruv Grewal, and Robert W. Palmatier, “A Comparative Longitudinal Analysis of Theoretical Perspectives of Interorganizational Relationship Performance,” Journal of Marketing, October 2007

2014: Robert W. Palmatier, Lisa K. Scheer, and Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp, “Customer Loyalty to Whom? Managing the Benefits and Risks of Salesperson-Owned Loyalty,” Journal of Marketing Research, May 2007

2013: George John and Mrinal Ghosh, “Strategic Fit in Industrial Alliances: An Empirical Test of Governance Value Analysis,” Journal of Marketing Research, August 2005

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees for the IOSIG Lifetime Achievement Award should demonstrate the following award criteria:

  • Long-term and significant contributions to various streams of interorganizational research such as channel management, interfirm alliances, buyer-seller relationships, and relationship marketing, among others.
  • Sustained record of research excellence in the domain.
  • Service to the Interorg academy and/or profession.

Nominations should be sent to the IOSIG chair and include a recent CV of the nominee along with a nomination letter of no more than 3 pages that addresses the criteria above

Previous Winners

2021: Rajdeep Grewal

2019: James R. Brown

2018: Lisa K. Scheer

2016: ​Sandy Jap

​2015: ​Shantanu Dutta

​2014: ​Gary Lilien

​2013: Bill Perreault, Jr​

2012: Jan Heide

2011: F. Robert Dwyer

​2010: Gary Frazier and George John

​2009: Robert F. Lusch

​2008: Erin Anderson

​2007: Bart Weitz

Interorganizational Chair:
Qiong Wang
University of Oklahoma

Interorganizational Past Chair:
Alberto Sa Vinhas
Washington State University 

Interorganizational Vice Chair of Communications:
Jody Crosno
West Virginia University 

Interorganizational Vice Chair of Membership:
Julie Li
City University of Hong Kong

Interorganizational Vice Chair of Conference Programming:
Zhen Tang
Loyola Marymount University