Article Awards | Journal of Marketing

The Sheth Foundation established the Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing Award in 2001 under the umbrella of the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF). The award honors the best article published in the Journal of Marketing that has made long-term contributions to the field of marketing. 

An article will be eligible for consideration to receive the Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing award in the fifth year after its publication in the Journal of Marketing. The criteria for selection include the quality of the article’s contribution to theory and practice, its originality, its technical competence (if relevant), and its impact on the field of marketing.  

2018 Winner

2018 Finalists:

Previous Winners

Shelby D.Hunt/Harold H. Maynard Award

Endowed through the generous support of Shelby D. Hunt and others, this annual award recognizes articles submitted to the Journal of Marketing that make the most significant contributions to marketing theory in a given calendar year.

2017 Winner
2017 Finalists:

Previous Recipients

Marketing Science Institute/H. Paul Root Award

This annual award honors past AMA Board Chair H. Paul Root. In addition to being an active member of the AMA, Root served as President of MSI from 1990 to 1998. The award is given to a paper that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the practice of marketing in a calendar year. It is cosponsored by the American Marketing Association and the Marketing Science Institute.

2017 Winner:
2017 Finalists:
  • Satish Jayachandran (University of South Carolina)
  • Timothy Heath (University of South Florida)
  • Tomas Hult (Michigan State University)
  • J. Andrew Petersen (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Frank Germann (University of Notre Dame)
  • Hui Feng (Iowa State University)
  • Alok Saboo (Georgia State University)
  • Anne Roggeveen (Babson College)
  • Lisa Scheer (University of Missouri)
  • Sarang Sunder (Texas Christian University) 

  1. A vote by Journal of Marketing’s ERB, AE, and Advisory Committee members will be conducted on all eligible papers (listed in order of appearance in an online survey along with abstracts). Each voter can select up to five papers. Editorials, commentaries, or other invited papers are not eligible for this award.

  2. Papers receiving the highest number of votes will be selected as finalists with the final number dependent on the distribution of the votes; typically, no more than five finalists are selected.

  3. The author(s) of each finalist paper will be asked to write a 750-word statement in support of their paper’s nomination.

  4. ​The EIC will form a three-member committee from JM Coeditors, Past JM Editors, Advisory Committee members, and senior AEs. A current JM Coeditor will chair the committee. Upon selection, each member confirms they have no conflict of interest. JM’s conflict policy includes: You are presently a co-author or have previously coauthored a paper with any of the authors; any of the authors was or is your thesis advisor; any of the authors is a business partner or relative; any of the authors is from your institution; and any of the authors is currently or was formerly one of your PhD students, per AMA policy. 

  5. The award committee will make the final award selection and notify the EIC who will announce it to the marketing community. ​

Go back to the Journal of Marketing​​​​​​​
Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.