JAMS Call for Editor


The Academy of Marketing Science seeks nominations for Editor; Deadline 31 Mar 2023


Author: Hyun Shin

The Academy of Marketing Science®  

Call for Editor Nominations: The Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science®  

The Academy of Marketing Science® calls for nominations of candidates to serve as Editor of the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science® (JAMS). JAMS is devoted to the study and improvement of marketing and serves as a vital link between scholarly research and practice by publishing research-based articles in the substantive domain of marketing. Since its founding in 1972, JAMS has consistently grown in stature under the direction of its outstanding previous editors, including Irene Lange, William R. Darden, Rajan Varadarajan, Robert Peterson, and Rob Palmatier. John Hulland has served as Editor-in-chief for the past 5 years and has further positioned the journal as one of the premier academic journals in the marketing discipline.  JAMS is recognized on the Financial Times list of the top 50 business journals in the world with an impact factor of 14.904. Currently, JAMS publishes 6 issues per year and receives over 700 submissions per year. The Editor-in-chief serves a 3-year term (2024-2026) and must be willing and able to work with a team of editors and associate editors, a diverse editorial review board, publishing editors, and AMS Officials to help accomplish AMS objectives.   

Interested candidates should further familiarize themselves with JAMS and AMS before considering a nomination. Self-nominations are welcome but interested individuals may suggest others for the position as well.  All nominations should be accompanied by a 300-word statement indicating interest in serving as Editor, a current CV, a brief positioning statement, a link to the candidate’s scholarly achievements (such as googlescholar), evidence of administrative capability and a statement indicating support from the employing institution. There is no need to provide the names of potential co-editors/associate editors during this initial phase of the nomination process.  

Nominations should be sent via email (cc ams-web@outlook.com) to Brad Carlson, Chair JAMS Search Committee by March 31, 2023 (brad.carlson@slu.edu).  

Search Committee: 

Brad D. Carlson, Chair
Barry J. Babin
James S. Boles
O.C. Ferrell
Stephanie M. Noble
Marko Sarstedt
Stephen L. Vargo
Manjit S. Yadav