MR SIG Srinivasan Award


The AMA's Marketing Research SIG has awarded Ron Berman the 2020 V. “Seenu” Srinivasan Young Scholar Award in Quantitative Marketing


Author: Praveen Kopalle

AMA MR SIG – Ron Berman wins 2020 V. “Seenu” Srinivasan Young Scholar Award in Quantitative Marketing

A three member committee of world renowned senior marketing scholars, all of whom are winners of several awards including the Gilbert Churchill award for lifetime contributions to development of marketing research, has unanimously selected Ron Berman as the winner of 2020 V. “Seenu” Srinivasan Young Scholar Award in Quantitative Marketing. Ron is an Assistant Professor of Marketing at The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

The award is facilitated by the generosity of Stanford University, University of Memphis, and Friends of Seenu Srinivasan in honor of V. “Seenu” Srinivasan, Adams Distinguished Professor of Management Emeritus at Stanford University. This award recognizes important contributions by a young scholar to quantitative marketing, with the quality of the journals and research weighted much more heavily than quantity. The quantitative research in marketing could be methodological, theoretical, and/or empirical. A young scholar eligible for this award should have received a marketing (or related) doctoral degree no more than six years prior to the receipt of the award. This annual award is associated with a specific body of work which is either published or accepted for publication in scholarly marketing journals.

According to the nomination(s) of the winner,

“Ron has distinguished his research on digital marketing as creative, relevant, and pushing the field forward. Building on his background in CS and Physics, Ron’s research applies and develops new methods using a diverse set of tools including game theory, decision theory, frequentist and Bayesian empirics, and analysis of large and small datasets. Furthermore, the research questions he touches upon are creative, contemporary and extremely relevant. Ron has a promising trajectory as a researcher, and in my opinion his research embodies the spirit of the award, making him a perfect candidate to receive it.”

Professor Berman will be recognized at the 2020 Summer AMA Conference, which will be virtual this year.

Praveen K. Kopalle
Chair, MR SIG

P.S: Please note that the 2019 Summer AMA Conference is in Chicago.

Previous Srinivasan Award Winners
2019 – Eric Schwartz, University of Michigan
2018 – Pinar Yildirim, University of Pennsylvania