MR SIG Lehmann Award

by Charles Hofacker


Christian Hughes and Xuan (Alex) Liu are co-winners of the 2020 AMA Marketing Research SIG Don Lehmann Award


Author: Praveen Kopalle

AMA MR SIG – Christian Hughes’s and Xuan (Alex) Liu’s Dissertation-based Articles Win 2020 Don Lehmann Award

A three member committee, consisting of current and previous Editors and Area Editors, has selected Christian Hughes’s and Xuan (Alex) Liu’s dissertation-based articles as co-winners of 2020 Don Lehmann Award, and the Runners-Up are Yiting Deng’s, Lauren Grewal’s, and Samuel Stäbler’s dissertation-based articles. Alex is with Netflix and Christian is Assistant Professor of Marketing at Mendoza College of Business, University of Notre Dame. Yiting is Assistant Professor of Marketing, University College London, Lauren is Assistant Professor of Business Administration at Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College, and Samuel is Assistant Professor of Marketing at Tilburg School of Economics and Management. The complete citations of the articles are as follows.


Hughes, C., Swaminathan, V., & Brooks, G. (2019). Driving Brand Engagement Through Online Social Influencers: An Empirical Investigation of Sponsored Blogging Campaigns. Journal of Marketing, 83(5), 78–96.

X. Liu, W. Shi, T. Teixeira and M. Wedel (2018), “Video Content Marketing: The Making of Clips,” Journal of Marketing, 82 (4), 86-101.

Runners Up:

Deng, Y., & Mela, C. F. (2018). TV Viewing and Advertising Targeting. Journal of Marketing Research, 55(1), 99–118.

Grewal, L., A. T. Stephen, and N. V. Coleman (2019), “When Posting About Products in Social Media Backfires: The Negative Effects of Consumer Identity-Signaling on Product Interest,” Journal of Marketing Research, 56 (2), 197 – 210.

Stäbler, S., & Fischer, M. (2020). When Does Corporate Social Irresponsibility Become News? Evidence from More Than 1,000 Brand Transgressions Across Five Countries. Journal of Marketing, 84(3), 46–67.

The Lehmann Award, established in 1997 in honor of Prof. Donald R. Lehmann, Professor of Marketing at Columbia University recognizes the Best Dissertation-based Article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research. This annual award is nominated by any member of the academic community and voted on by the Marketing Research SIG Awards Committee. This year’s committee received a number of excellent nominations, resulting in a tough competitive pool.

The winners and runners up will be recognized at the 2020 Summer AMA Conference, which will be virtual this year.

Praveen K. Kopalle
Chair, MR SIG

Previous AMA-MRSIG Don Lehmann Award Winners

2019 – (Joint Winners) Courtney Paulson, Lan Luo, Gareth M. James AND Amalesh Sharma, Alok R. Saboo, V. Kumar
2018 – Daniel McCarthy, Peter S. Fader, and Bruce G.S. Hardie
2017 – (Joint Winners) Sarang Sunder, V. Kumar, Yi Zhao AND Anindita Chakravarty, Rajdeep Grewal
2016 – (Joint Winners) V. Kumar, Xi (Alan) Zhang, Anita Luo AND Valeria Stourm, Eric T. Bradlow, Peter S. Fader
2015 – Seshadri Tirunillai, Gerard J. Tellis
2014 – Anita Luo, V. Kumar
2013 – (Joint Winners) Sanjay Puligadda, Bill Ross, Rajdeep Grewal AND Oliver Rutz, Randy Bucklin
2012 – Andrew Stephen, Oliver Toubia
2011 – Michael Trusov, Anand Bodapati, Randy Bucklin
2010 – Andrew Petersen, V. Kumar
2009 – Lan Luo, P.K. Kannan, Brian Ratchford
2008 – Joseph Pancras, K. Sudhir
2007 – Debora V. Thompson, Rebecca Hamilton, Roland Rust
2005 – Rajkumar Venkatesan, V. Kumar
2004 – Peter Verhoef
2003 – Kay Lemon, Tiffany White, Russ Winer
2002 – Vanitha Swaminathan, Richard Fox, Srinivas Reddy
2001 – (Joint Winners) Werner Reinartz, V. Kumar AND Sanjeev Varki, Bruce Cooil, Roland Rust
2000 – Venkatesh Shankar, Greg Carpenter, Lakshman Krishnaurthi
1999 – K. Sivakumar, S.P. Raj
1998 – Adam Finn, Ujwal Kayande
1997 – V. Seenu Srinivasan, Chan Su Park