Gerald E. Hills Award


AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG invites nominations for the 2020 Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award; Deadline 15 Apr 2020

AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG invites nominations for

The 2020 Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award

Gerald (Gerry) E. Hills is widely recognized for his research and expertise in entrepreneurial marketing, especially for his work on opportunity recognition. In addition, Gerry initiated and continues to organize an annual research symposium on Marketing and Entrepreneurship (see since the eighties. Gerry was one of the AMA leaders who initiated the Special Interest Group concept. The Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG is pleased to continue to present a best paper award in recognition of Gerry’s lifetime contributions to the field.

Award Criteria:

The Gerald E. Hills Award Best Paper on Entrepreneurial Marketing award is presented annually (usually during the GRSME symposium preceding the Summer AMA conference) to the author(s) of the "best paper" who have made a significant impact on the marketing/entrepreneurship interface research. The domain of nominated articles would be papers published in the previous 10 years in any refereed publication.

Previous winners:

2019: Nicole E. Coviello (Wilfrid Laurier U) and Richard M. Joseph (ASB Bank), “Creating Major Innovations with Customers: Insights from Small and Young Technology Firms”, Journal of Marketing, 2012, 76(6), 87-104.

2018: Raghunath Singh Rao (UT Austin), Rajesh K. Chandy (London Business School), and Jaideep C. Prabhu (Cambridge Judge Business School), The fruits of legitimacy: Why some new ventures gain more from Innovation than others”, Journal of Marketing, 2008, 72 (4), 58-75.

2017: Justin W Webb (The University of North Carolina at Charlotte); Duane R. Ireland (Texas A&M University); Michael A. Hitt (Texas Christian University); Geoffrey M. Kistruck (York University); Laszlo Tihanyi (Texas A&M University), “Where is the Opportunity without the Customer? An Integration of Marketing Activities, the Entrepreneurship Process, and Institutional Theory,” Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, 2011, 39 (4), 537-554.

2016: Diane M. Martin (Aalto Unviersity) and John Schouten (Aalto University): “Consumption-Driven Market Emergence,” Journal of Consumer Research, 2014, 40 (5), 855-870.

2015: Stuart Read (IMD Lausanne), Nicholas Dew (Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey), Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia), Michael Song (University of Missouri), and Robert Wiltbank (Willamette University): "Marketing Under Uncertainty – The Logic of an Effectual Approach," Journal of Marketing, 2009, 73 (3), 1-18.

2014: Marc Gruber (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Ian C. MacMillan (University of Pennsylvania) and James D. Thompson (University of Pennsylvania): “Look Before You Leap: Market Opportunity Identification in Emerging Technology Firms,” Management Science, 2008, 54(9), 1652-1664.

2013: Nicole E. Coviello (Wilfrid Laurier University) for "Network Dynamics in the International New Venture," Journal of International Business Studies, 2006, 37(5), 713-731.

2012: Michael H. Morris (Oklahoma State University), Minet Schindehutte (Syracuse University), and Raymond W. Laforge (University of Louisville) for “Entrepreneurial Marketing: A Construct for Integrating Emerging Entrepreneurship and Marketing Perspectives,” Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, 2002, Fall, 1-18.

2011: Ken Matsuno (Babson College), Tom Mentzer (University of Tennessee), and Aysegul Ozsomer (Koc University) for "The Effects of Entrepreneurial Proclivity and Market Orientation on Business Performance," Journal of Marketing, 2002, 66(3), 18-33.

2010: Helena Yli-Renko (University of Southern California), Erkko Autio (Imperial College), and Harry J. Sapienza (University of Minnesota) for "Social Capital, Knowledge Acquisition, and Knowledge Exploitation in Young Technology-Based Firms," Strategic Management Journal, 2001, (22), 587-613.

Inaugural 2009 award: Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia) for "Causation and Effectuation: Toward a Theoretical Shift from Economic Inevitability to Entrepreneurial Contingency," Academy of Management Review, 2001, (2), 243-263.

Nomination Deadline:

Please email your nomination with a one-page statement of endorsement to Can Uslay (AMA EM SIG Chair) or Susan Wei (VC Research) by April 15, 2020. Self-nominations (for up to two articles) are also acceptable.

E-mails: ;