Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG/Hills Award


Nicole Coviello and Richard Joseph have won the AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG's Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award for their 2012 JM article

AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG

2019 Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award


The Gerald E. Hills Award Best Paper on Entrepreneurial Marketing award is presented annually to the author(s) of the “best paper” who have made a significant impact on the marketing/entrepreneurship interface research. The domain of nominated articles would be papers published in the previous 10 years in any refereed publication. After a thorough review of candidate papers by this year’s selection committee, we are very pleased to announce the winners:


Creating Major Innovations with Customers:

Insights from Small and Young Technology Firms


Nicole E. CovielloRichard M. Joseph

Journal of Marketing, 2012, 76 (6), 87-104.


The marketing literature typically argues that customers cannot easily be involved with, and contribute to, the creation of major innovation (MI). This article finds otherwise. The authors use an inductive process method to study how six MIs were developed for business-to-business markets by small and young technology firms. Three of the MIs were successful, and three failed. The firms with MI success are distinguished by a nonconventional new product development process that includes five iterative and overlapping activities and up to ten different customer roles. These activities and roles are captured in a multifaceted taxonomy of customer participation. The analysis also uncovers three capabilities relevant to the development of successful MI—capabilities that are effectual rather than adaptive in nature. These findings and the propositions derived from them offer a more complete understanding of customer participation, new product development across contexts, and marketing capabilities.


2019 Hills Best Paper Award selection committee:

Yinghong Susan Wei (Chair), Texas A&M International University

Victoria (Vicky) Crittenden, Babson College

Maija Renko, University of Illinois at Chicago


About the Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award

Gerald (Gerry) E. Hills is widely recognized for his research and expertise in entrepreneurial marketing, especially for his work on opportunity recognition. In addition, Gerry initiated and continues to organize a symposium on entrepreneurial marketing since the eighties. In fact, Gerry was one of the AMA leaders who initiated the Special Interest Group concept. The Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG is pleased to present the best paper award in recognition of Gerry’s lifetime contributions to the field.

Previous Award winners:

2018: Raghunath Singh Rao (University of Texas at Austin), Rajesh K. Chandy (London Business School), and Jaideep C. Prabhu (University of Cambridge): “The Fruits of Legitimacy: Why Some New Ventures Gain More from Innovation than Others,” Journal of Marketing, 2008, 72 (4), 58-75.

2017: Justin W Webb (the University of North Carolina at Charlotte), R Duane Ireland (Texas A&M University), Michael A Hitt (Texas Christian University), Geoffrey M Kistruck (York University), Laszlo Tihanyi (Texas A&M University): “Where is the Opportunity without the Customer? An Integration of Marketing Activities, the Entrepreneurship Process, and Institutional Theory,” Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, 2011, 39 (4), 537-554.

2016: Diane M. Martin (Aalto University) and John Schouten (Aalto University): “Consumption-Driven Market Emergence, Journal of Consumer Research, 2014, 40 (5 ), 855-870.

2015: Stuart Read (IMD Lausanne), Nicholas Dew (Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey), Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia), Michael Song (University of Missouri), and Robert Wiltbank (Willamette University): "Marketing Under Uncertainty – The Logic of an Effectual Approach," Journal of Marketing, 2009, 73 (3), 1-18.

2014: Marc Gruber (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Ian C. MacMillan (University of Pennsylvania) and James D. Thompson (University of Pennsylvania): “Look Before You Leap: Market Opportunity Identification in Emerging Technology Firms,” Management Science, 2008, 54(9), 1652-1664.

2013: Nicole E. Coviello (Wilfrid Laurier University) for "Network Dynamics in the International New Venture," Journal of International Business Studies, 2006, 37(5), 713-731.

2012: Michael H. Morris (Oklahoma State University), Minet Schindehutte (Syracuse University), and Raymond W. Laforge (University of Louisville) for “Entrepreneurial Marketing: A Construct for Integrating Emerging Entrepreneurship and Marketing Perspectives,” Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, 2002, Fall, 1-18.

2011: Ken Matsuno (Babson College), Tom Mentzer (University of Tennessee), and Aysegul Ozsomer (Koc University) for "The Effects of Entrepreneurial Proclivity and Market Orientation on Business Performance," Journal of Marketing, 2002, 66(3), 18-33.

2010: Helena Yli-Renko (University of Southern California), Erkko Autio (Imperial College), and Harry J. Sapienza (University of Minnesota) for "Social Capital, Knowledge Acquisition, and Knowledge Exploitation in Young Technology-Based Firms," Strategic Management Journal, 2001, (22), 587-613.

Inaugural 2009 award: Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia) for "Causation and Effectuation: Toward a Theoretical Shift from Economic Inevitability to Entrepreneurial Contingency," Academy of Management Review, 2001, (2), 243-263.

2020 Nomination Deadline:

Please email your nomination with a one-page statement of endorsement to Can Uslay (AMA EM SIG Chair) or Susan Wei (VC Research) by April 1, 2020. Self-nominations (for up to two articles) are also acceptable.

E-mails: can.uslay@business.rutgers.edu ; susanwei.yinghong@gmail.com