Andrew Stephen Wins Varadarajan Award


Andrew T. Stephen has won the AMA Marketing Strategy SIG 2019 Varadarajan Award for Early Career Contributions


The AMA Marketing Strategy SIG is delighted to announce that Prof. Andrew Stephen is the winner of the 2019 Varadarajan Award for Early Career Contributions to Marketing Strategy Research. A three member panel of past winners and/or editors found Prof. Stephen’s research accomplishments to be highly commendable and deserving of this year’s award.

Prof. Stephen earned his PhD in Marketing with distinction from Columbia University. He is currently the L’Oréal Professor of Marketing & Associate Dean of Research at the University of Oxford, Saïd Business School. In addition, Prof. Stephen is the founder and director of the Oxford Future of Marketing Initiative, which is a collaborative network of academic-industry partnerships aimed at producing relevant research and practical thought leadership that shapes the future of the marketing profession.

His research focuses on issues pertaining to the technology-centric future of the marketing, media, and advertising industries. He has made significant contributions to our understandings of digital marketing and advertising, and especially how social media works for marketers. Prof. Stephen’s research has been published in all of the leading academic journals in marketing, as well as in professional outlets such as Harvard Business Review and MIT Sloan Management Review and top psychology journals. Currently, he is serving as Co-Editor of the International Journal of Research in Marketing and on the editorial boards of the Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, and Journal of Consumer Psychology. He has been featured as one of the top 40 business school professors under 40 by Poets and Quants (in 2015) and has won numerous awards for his research excellence.

Congratulations to Andrew Stephen.

Previous winners of the award include: Peter Golder, Sundar Bharadwaj, Kay Lemon, Rajesh Chandy, Aric Rindfleisch, Rajdeep Grewal, Stefan Stremersch, Koen Pauwels, Werner Reinartz, Raji Srinivasan, Natalie Mizik, Rob Palmatier, Debanjan Mitra, Shrihari (Hari) Sridhar, Er (Eric) Fang, Kapil Tuli, J. Andrew Petersen, and Denish Shah.