MMA Teacher-Scholar PhD Competition


Marketing Management Association Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Doctoral Student Competition; Deadline 19 May 2019

2019 Annual Outstanding Teacher-Scholar
Doctoral Student Competition – Call for Submissions

24th Annual MMA Fall Educators’ Conference
Santa Fe, NM, September 18-20, 2019

The Marketing Management Association (MMA) is delighted to announce the 2019 annual Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Doctoral Student Competition. The competition is open to all marketing doctoral students to recognize achievement and future promise in student learning and scholarship. Applicants must be currently enrolled, in-residence marketing doctoral students who expect to have the doctoral degree awarded in December 2019 or later. The submission deadline is Sunday, May 19, 2019. Please note that your submission indicates your intention to register and attend the conference if selected as a finalist. A complete submission must contain three PDFs, as noted below, sent to the competition chair, Professor Vicky Crittenden at

  1. A member of your doctoral committee or senior faculty member’s letter of recommendation addressing your scholarly record, potential for future scholarship and your ability to foster student learning in and outside the classroom,
  2. A condensed curriculum vita (two pages, double-spaced, 12-point font) highlighting your scholarly and student learning achievements, and
  3. A teaching statement (three pages, double-spaced, 12-point font) describing your ability to engage and foster student learning, including any supporting evidence.

All submissions will be reviewed by three competition judges:

Lauren Beitelspacher, Associate Professor of Marketing, Babson College. Lauren was the 2017 recipient of the AMA’s Pearson Prentice Hall’s Solomon-Marshall-Stuart Award for Innovative Excellence in Marketing Education. She also received the Babson College Dean’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in 2017. In 2016, Poets & Quants recognized Lauren as one of the 40 under 40 Best Business Professors.

Theresa B. Clarke, Wampler-Longacre Eminent Scholars Professor of Marketing, James Madison University. With over 900 scholarly citations, Theresa received the 2011 MMA Hormel Master Teacher Award and the 2014 O’Hara Leadership Award in Education, and she is co-editor of Advances in Electronic Marketing.

Lisa D. Spiller, Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Christopher Newport University. With more than 190 scholarly citations, Lisa received the 2008 O’Hara Leadership Award in Education and the 2005 Robert B. Clark Outstanding Direct Marketing Educator Award, and she is author of Direct, Digital, and Data-Driven Marketing, 4/e.

The judges will select three finalists who will present a 15-minute demonstration that best communicates their approach to student learning in any marketing area of their choosing at the 2019 MMA Fall Educators’ Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico (September 18-20, 2019). The competition judges will then select a winner based on each finalist’s demonstration, with all three recognized for their achievement at the Awards Luncheon on Thursday, September 19, 2019. The winner will receive a $1,000 prize, and the two runners up will each receive a $250 prize.

Please visit

for full conference details including the Conference Call for Papers.