MR SIG Lehmann Award


The AMA Marketing Research SIG has selected Daniel McCarthy?s dissertation-based article for the Don Lehmann Award

A three member committee, consisting of a previous JMR Editor and two other world renowned marketing scholars, has unanimously selected Daniel McCarthy’s dissertation-based article as the winner of 2018 Don Lehmann Award. Daniel is an Assistant Professor of Marketing at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. Daniel’s co-authors on the article are Pete Fader, who is the Frances and Pei-Yuan Chia Professor of Marketing at University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School and Bruce Hardie, who is a Professor of Marketing at London Business School.

The Lehmann Award, established in 1997 in honor of Prof. Donald R. Lehmann, Professor of Marketing at Columbia University recognizes the Best Dissertation-based Article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research. This annual award is nominated by any member of the academic community and voted on by the Marketing Research SIG Awards Committee. This year’s committee received 13 nominations and selected the following article for the award:

McCarthy, Daniel M., Peter S. Fader, and Bruce G.S. Hardie (2017), “Valuing Subscription-Based Businesses Using Publicly Disclosed Customer Data,” Journal of Marketing, 81(1), 17-35.

According to the nomination(s) of this article,

“The article has generated unprecedented impact in the short time that it has been in publication. It is the most downloaded marketing science paper of all time on SSRN – the first and only to exceed 10,000 downloads. It is also widely referenced/acknowledged by academics and practitioners in both marketing and finance. Aswath Damodaran, world-famous professor of finance at NYU, said the work “is not just relevant to valuation but is changing the way analysts are approaching the valuation of user-based companies.” The proposed methodology has been mentioned many times in the financial press, including the Wall Street Journal, Fortune, CNBC and the Financial Times, as well as the marketing press, including RetailWire and AdWeek.”

The winners will be recognized at the MR SIG reception and award ceremony during 2018 Summer AMA Conference in Boston.

Tarun Kushwaha & J. Andrew Petersen
Co-Chairs, MR SIG

Previous AMA-MRSIG Don Lehmann Award Winners

2017 – (Joint Winners) Sarang Sunder, V. Kumar, Yi Zhao AND Anindita Chakravarty, Rajdeep Grewal
2016 – (Joint Winners) V. Kumar, Xi (Alan) Zhang, Anita Luo AND Valeria Stourm, Eric T. Bradlow, Peter S. Fader
2015 – Seshadri Tirunillai, Gerard J. Tellis
2014 – Anita Luo, V. Kumar
2013 – (Joint Winners) Sanjay Puligadda, Bill Ross, Rajdeep Grewal AND Oliver Rutz, Randy Bucklin
2012 – Andrew Stephen, Oliver Toubia
2011 – Michael Trusov, Anand Bodapati, Randy Bucklin
2010 – Andrew Petersen, V. Kumar
2009 – Lan Luo, P.K. Kannan, Brian Ratchford
2008 – Joseph Pancras, K. Sudhir
2007 – Debora V. Thompson, Rebecca Hamilton, Roland Rust
2005 – Rajkumar Venkatesan, V. Kumar
2004 – Peter Verhoef
2003 – Kay Lemon, Tiffany White, Russ Winer
2002 – Vanitha Swaminathan, Richard Fox, Srinivas Reddy
2001 – (Joint Winners) Werner Reinartz, V. Kumar AND Sanjeev Varki, Bruce Cooil, Roland Rust
2000 – Venkatesh Shankar, Greg Carpenter, Lakshman Krishnaurthi
1999 – K. Sivakumar, S.P. Raj
1998 – Adam Finn, Ujwal Kayande
1997 – V. Seenu Srinivasan, Chan Su Park