ISDN 2018


Interdisciplinary Symposium on Decision Neuroscience, University of Michigan, 1-2 Jun 2018; Abstract deadline 9 Mar

Eighth Annual Interdisciplinary Symposium on Decision Neuroscience

June 1–2, 2018
Stephen M. Ross School of Business
University of Michigan

On June 1–2, 2018, University of Michigan will host the Eighth Annual Interdisciplinary Symposium on Decision Neuroscience (ISDN) at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business. This year’s symposium will include talks by Kent Berridge, Laurette Dube, Todd Hare, Catherine Hartley, Scott Huettel, Wendy Ju, Stephanie Preston, Alan Sanfey, Baldwin Way, and Piotr Wikielman.


This symposium is unique in that it brings together a range of constituencies involved in the use of neuroscience techniques to understand decision making: world-renowned academics, neuroscience research companies, marketing research executives, and industry leaders. It offers an opportunity over June 1-2 to mingle and present the latest breakthroughs on using neuro and physiological measures to inform decision making in individuals, groups, societies, organizations, and markets. Please note that Sunday, June 3 will feature a half-day training workshop on neuroimaging techniques.


Abstract Submission Deadline: March 9, 2018 (11:59 p.m. EST)
Presentations should be submitted online via the conference website. Late-breaking poster presentations will be accepted for review until May 10, 2018 (11:59 p.m. EDT)

The organizing committee will select papers for presentation at the symposium based on extended abstracts. The abstract should state the study’s objectives, briefly describe the methods, summarize the results obtained, and state the conclusions. Selections will be based on quality, relevance to decision neuroscience, and contribution to breadth of topics and interdisciplinary approaches. (Note that all abstracts do not necessarily require neuroscience data but should have the potential to encourage discussions about a possible role for neuroscience.) Selected papers would ideally not be published prior to the symposium.


Registration will be open in March. For all other details about the conference, including abstract format, confirmed speakers, accommodations, sponsorship information, etc., please visit the conference website.

We look forward to receiving your abstract and to seeing you in June.

                                                           Organizing Committee

                                                  Angelika Dimoka Temple University
                                                  Uma Karmarkar University of California, San Diego
                                                  Drazen Prelec MIT
Crystal Reeck Temple University
Baba Shiv Stanford GSB
Vinod Venkatraman Temple University
Carolyn Yoon University of Michigan