IOSIG Louis W. Stern Award


This AMA Interorganizational SIG award has gone to Palmatier, Jarvis, Bechkoff and Kardes (2009) for their paper on customer gratitude and relationships

The 2017 Louis W. Stern Award Winner

The 2017 Stern Award Committee, chaired by James R. Brown (West Virginia University) and including Inge Geyskens (Tilburg University, The Netherlands) and Richard McFarland (ESSEC, France), is pleased to announce that Robert W. Palmatier (University of Washington), Cheryl Burke Jarvis (Southern Illinois University), Jennifer R. Bechkoff (San Jose State University), and Frank R. Kardes (University of Cincinnati) are the winners of the 2017 Louis W. Stern Award. Their winning article “The Role of Customer Gratitude in Relationship Marketing,” was published in the Journal of Marketing in 2009.

The committee unanimously agreed that the article is an outstanding example of original and well executed research that has made a significant contribution to the field of inter-organizational relationship research.

The Interorganizational SIG’s Louis W. Stern Award was established by Louis W. and Rhona L. Stern in 1999 through the American Marketing Association Foundation. The award recognizes an outstanding article published in a widely recognized and highly respected refereed journal that has made a significant contribution to the literature on marketing and channels of distribution.

The IOSIG thanks all who took the time to nominate and vote for articles for the 2017 Louis W. Stern Award and especially appreciates all the work the award committee put into selecting the winning article. The Stern Award will be conferred at the Summer Educator’s conference in August during the Awards Luncheon. Please join us in offering Rob, Cheryl, Jennifer, and Frank sincere congratulations for their outstanding contribution to our field!

Alberto Sa Vinhas
Phone: 360-546-9146