Gerald E. Hills Award


Diane M. Martin and John Schouten have won the AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG's Gerald E. Hills Award Best Paper on Entrepreneurial Marketing

AMA Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG

2016 Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award

The Gerald E. Hills Award Best Paper on Entrepreneurial Marketing award is presented annually to the author(s) of the “best paper” who have made a significant impact on the marketing/ entrepreneurship interface research. The domain of nominated articles would be papers published in the previous 10 years in any refereed publication. After a thorough review of candidate papers by this year’s selection committee, we are very pleased to announce:

 Consumption-Driven Market Emergence

Diane M. Martin and John Schouten

Journal of Consumer Research in 2014, 40 (5, 855-870

Abstract: New market development is well theorized from a firm-centered perspective, but research has paid scant attention to the emergence of markets from consumption activity. The exceptions conceptualize market emergence as a product of consumer struggle against prevailing market logics. This study develops a model of consumption-driven market emergence in harmony with existing market offerings. Using ethnographic methods and actor-network theory the authors chronicle the emergence of a new market within the motorcycle industry that develops with neither active participation nor interference from mainstream industry players. Findings reveal a process of multiple translations wherein consumers mobilize human and nonhuman actors to co-constitute products, practices, and infrastructures. These drive the growth of interlinked communities of practice, which ultimately are translated into a fully functioning market. The study highlights the roles of distributed innovation and diffusion, embedded entrepreneurship, and market catalysts in processes of market change and development.

2016 Hills Best Paper Award selection committee:

Yinghong Susan Wei (Chair), Texas A&M International University

Abdul Ali, Babson College

Saras Sarasvathy, University of Virginia

About the Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award

Gerald (Gerry) E. Hills is widely recognized for his research and expertise in entrepreneurial marketing, especially for his work on opportunity recognition. In addition, Gerry initiated and continues to organize a symposium on entrepreneurial marketing since the eighties. In fact, Gerry was one of the AMA leaders who initiated the Special Interest Group concept. The Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG is pleased to present a best paper award in recognition of Gerry’s lifetime contributions to the field.

Previous Award winners:

2015: Stuart Read (IMD Lausanne), Nicholas Dew (Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey), Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia), Michael Song (University of Missouri), and Robert Wiltbank (Willamette University): "Marketing Under Uncertainty – The Logic of an Effectual Approach," Journal of Marketing, 2009, 73 (3), 1-18.

2014: Marc Gruber (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Ian C. MacMillan (University of Pennsylvania) and James D. Thompson (University of Pennsylvania): “Look Before You Leap: Market Opportunity Identification in Emerging Technology Firms,” Management Science, 2008, 54(9), 1652-1664.

2013: Nicole E. Coviello (Wilfrid Laurier University) for "Network Dynamics in the International New Venture," Journal of International Business Studies, 2006, 37(5), 713-731.

2012: Michael H. Morris (Oklahoma State University), Minet Schindehutte (Syracuse University), and Raymond W. Laforge (University of Louisville) for “Entrepreneurial Marketing: A Construct for Integrating Emerging Entrepreneurship and Marketing Perspectives,” Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, 2002, Fall, 1-18.

2011: Ken Matsuno (Babson College), Tom Mentzer (University of Tennessee), and Aysegul Ozsomer (Koc University) for "The Effects of Entrepreneurial Proclivity and Market Orientation on Business Performance," Journal of Marketing, 2002, 66(3), 18-33.

2010: Helena Yli-Renko (University of Southern California), Erkko Autio (Imperial College), and Harry J. Sapienza (University of Minnesota) for "Social Capital, Knowledge Acquisition, and Knowledge Exploitation in Young Technology-Based Firms," Strategic Management Journal, 2001, (22), 587-613.

Inaugural 2009 award: Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia) for "Causation and Effectuation: Toward a Theoretical Shift from Economic Inevitability to Entrepreneurial Contingency," Academy of Management Review, 2001, (2), 243-263.


2017 Nomination Deadline:

Please email your nomination with a one-page statement of endorsement to Can Uslay (AMA EM SIG Chair) or Susan Wei (VC Research) by March 1, 2017. Self-nominations (for up to two articles) are also acceptable.

E-mails: ;