Jan-Benedict E. M. Steenkamp Award


Jeffrey S. Larson, Eric T. Bradlow and Peter S. Fader have won this EMAC award for long-term impact for their 2005 article in IJRM

2016 Winner of the Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long-Term Impact

The European Marketing Academy (EMAC) and the International Journal of Research in Marketing (IJRM) are pleased to announce the winner of the 2016 Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long-Term Impact:

Jeffrey S. Larson, Eric T. Bradlow, and Peter S. Fader, An exploratory look at supermarket shopping paths. International Journal of Research in Marketing, Volume 22(4), pp 459-470.

This award is given annually to papers published in IJRM in recognition of their exceptional contributions in academic marketing research by demonstrating long-term impact.

A 4-member Award Committee, formed by the IJRM editor and the EMAC VP of Publications, managed the nomination and selection procedure. For this year, the committee is composed of Bernd Skiera (Goethe-University, Germany; Chairperson), Zeynep Gürhan-Canli (Koç University, Turkey), Martin Schreier (WU Vienna, Austria), and Steven Shugan (University of Florida, USA).

Statement from the Award Committee on the Winner of the 2016 Jan-Benedict Steenkamp Award for Long-term Impact

This year’s award was reviewed by a committee of four IJRM Senior Editors representing the three key domains of Consumer Behavior, Strategy, and Modeling. The committee thanks everyone for voting and commenting on the eligible papers. As usual, two rounds of voting by the IJRM Editorial Board members were followed by committee deliberation.

The procedure for this award is as follows:

  1. All papers published in IJRM 10 to 15 years prior to the year the award is being presented are eligible. Thus, all papers published in the years 2001 through 2006 were eligible for the 2016 award.
  2. Nominations are invited from EMAC members and from the IJRM Editorial Board. Past winners, papers authored or co-authored by Jan-Benedict Steenkamp, and by the current IJRM Editor are not eligible. This year, we received nominations for 39 papers.
  3. The nominated papers comprise the first ballot from which the IJRM Editorial Board could vote for up to 5 papers; self-voting is not allowed. The ballot includes links to each paper and its cumulative ISI citations and Google Scholar citations up to January 1 of the current year.
  4. The resulting ten papers that receive the most votes in the first round make up the ballot for the final round of voting in which the IJRM Editorial Board can choose only one (1) paper. This year, 10 papers progressed to the final round.
  5. After receiving the votes, the committee then deliberates on the winning paper guided by the following criteria: (1) the votes received from the IJRM Editorial Board, (2) its ISI and Google Scholar citations, and (3) its quality, as assessed by the committee’s in-depth reading. Given these criteria, there is room to deviate from the mere vote tallying, but the deviation needs to be clearly argued, and rather exceptional. There can also be two winners in exceptional cases (not more than once every 3 years on average).

Based on the votes, the citations and the committee’s quality assessment, the winner is "An exploratory look at supermarket shopping paths" by Jeffrey S. Larson, Eric T. Bradlow, and Peter S. Fader, published in 2005 (Volume 22, Issue 4).

This paper offers analyses of an extraordinary new dataset that reveals the path taken by individual shoppers in an actual grocery store, as provided by RFID (radio frequency identification) tags located on their shopping carts. The authors propose a new multivariate clustering algorithm that handles the spatial constraints of the stores from which the data was collected (e.g., the location of aisles). They also show that cluster configurations differ for short, medium, and long trips, which outlines the importance of considering the time spent in the store for analyzing shopping path patterns. Their results show, among many others, that weaving up and down all aisles is not the dominant shopping path. Instead, most shoppers only travel select aisles, and rarely in the systematic up-and-down pattern that most tend to consider as the dominant travel pattern.

The paper is impactful because it is among the first to use data that build upon in-store people tracking technologies to analyze paths that customers take within supermarkets. This kind of in-store analytics was fairly unknown at the time of their publication but is now much more widely available due to recent technologies such as thermal imaging, infrared beams, Wi-Fi tracking, or beacons. The publication was clearly ahead of its time and laid out a fundament to much better analyze questions such as how do shoppers travel through a store, how frequent do they skip aisles, do they spend most of their time at the outer ring of the store, and do dominant patterns of shopping paths exist? As such, it was one of the first papers analyzing the customers’ journey.

We congratulate the authors for receiving this award.

Zeynep Gürhan-Canli (Koç University, Turkey)
Martin Schreier (WU Vienna, Austria)
Steven Shugan (University of Florida, USA)
Bernd Skiera (Goethe University, Germany)