SERVSIG Emerging Scholar


AMA Services Marketing SIG calls for nominations for its Emerging Service Scholar Award; Deadline 15 Mar 2015

SERVSIG is proud to announce the installment of the new

2015 SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award
sponsored by the dmc at UMass Boston. 

This award recognizes contributions to advancing the study of service research, and will be given annually to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of his or her academic career. The award, launched in 2015, is given annually and is presented at the Frontiers in Services Conference. The first SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award will be presented at the Frontiers in Services Conference 2015 in San Jose.

The award includes a cash prize of $1000, plaque and spotlight features on the SERVSIG website & newsletter and other publications. The award is sponsored by the digital media center (dmc) at UMass Boston.


Recipients of the SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award should have their doctoral degree up to 10 years prior to the year of the award or be nominated for the award in the last two years. Other eligibility issues:

  • Candidates for a SERVSIG Award do not have to be a member of SERVSIG or the AMA to be eligible to win.
  • Candidates may be from anywhere in the world. From the beginning, SERVSIG has sought to be globally oriented and globally active.
Selection Process:

Each year, ServSIG appoints a panel of scholars to serve as selection committee. The panel solicits nominations from the service community, and selects the recipient of the award. Criteria to be used to determine contribution include innovation, methodological rigor, and both current impact and future potential to substantially advance service research. Once nominated, the nominee will automatically be included in the consideration set for the award for the subsequent two years without the need for re-nomination.

The committee chair of the inaugural year will be Ray Fisk, the founder of SERVSIG.
SERVSIG thanks following committee members for their commitment and their work:
  • Chair: Ray Fisk (Texas State) <>
  • Kay Lemon (Boston College)
  • Jochen Wirtz (NU Singapore)
  • Tracey Dagger (Monash)
  • Lloyd Haris (Warwick)


To nominate a candidate for the award, nominators should provide:

• A nomination letter (two pages maximum length; self-nominations are also acceptable).
• A current vita for the nominated scholar or a web link to an online vita.
• No more than three publications representative of the nominee’s contributions.
• All material needs to be submitted electronically.

If you feel that you would like to nominate somebody for the Emerging Scholar Award please contact the committee chair or send me an email ( no later than March 15th and it will be forwarded to the selection committee.

Best regards and we hope to get your nominations soon!

Werner Kunz