Mahajan to McAlister


Leigh McAlister is the winner of the AMA Marketing Strategy SIG's 2014 Mahajan Award for Lifetime Contributions to Marketing Strategy Research

Mahajan Award for Lifetime Contributions to Marketing Strategy Research

The Marketing Strategy SIG is delighted to announce Prof. Leigh McAlister as the winner of the 2014 Mahajan Award for Lifetime Contributions to Marketing Strategy Research. Professor McAlister is the Ed and Molly Smith Chair in Business Administration and Professor of Marketing at the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas – Austin. A three member panel of past award winners and past Journal of Marketing editors found Prof. McAlister’s contributions to Marketing Strategy as highly impactful and deserving of this year’s Mahajan Award. A 1978 Ph.D. from Stanford University, Prof. McAlister has been a faculty member at the University of Washington, MIT, and The University of Texas. From July 2003 to June 2005 she served as Executive Director of the Marketing Science Institute (MSI) in Cambridge, Massachusetts and also served as an MSI Academic Trustee from 1992 – 1998. Prof. McAlister’s research focuses on the strategic implications of consumers’ reaction to marketing intervention as well as marketing’s effects on firm value and risk. Her papers have appeared in all leading academic marketing journals and have been recognized with the O’Dell Award (2003), the Davidson Award (2007, 2011), and as a finalist of the MSI H. Paul Root Award (2007). She currently serves as Area Editor of the Journal of Marketing, Associate Editor of Marketing Science, and has previously served as Associate Editor of Journal of Marketing Research and Special Issue Guest Editor of Marketing Science. Prof. McAlister has won numerous teaching awards at all institutions she has been a faculty member of, including a 1996 CBA Foundation Advisory Council Award for Teaching Innovation. In 2014 she was recognized with the AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award. Congratulations to Leigh McAlister.

Previous winners of the award include: David Aaker, George Day, David Montgomery, Rajan Varadarajan, Raj Srivastava, Frederick Webster, Gerry Tellis, V. Kumar, Christine Moorman, Ajay Kohli, Roland T. Rust, Stanley F. Slater, Venkatesh Shanker, and Dominique Hanssens.