AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Nominations


The 2014 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award; Nomination deadline 15 Oct 2013

2014 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2014 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award are now being sought. The award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education. It will be presented at the AMA’s 2014 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference. This year marks the twenty-ninth annual presentation of the award.

Six criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  • General Creativity/Innovativeness
  • Administrative Contributions
  • Teaching and Mentoring
  • Public Service
  • Research Contributions
  • Service to the Marketing Profession

All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over an extended period of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should be submitted in electronic form and should include:


  1. A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession.
  2. A current curriculum vita for the nominee.

The Irwin Award Committee will select a winner from the nominations received. This year’s committee is composed of the following five individuals: Jeff Inman (chair), Bart Weitz, Sandy Jap, Russ Winer, and Valarie Zeithaml. Electronic copies of submission materials should be sent by October 15, 2013 to the chair of the Irwin Award Committee:

Jeff Inman
Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing
Katz School of Business
University of Pittsburgh
+1 412-648-1570

Carryover Policy

It is committee policy to evaluate a nominee three times – the year initially nominated and the following two years. Thus, individuals who were nominated for the 2012 and 2013 Irwin Award will be automatically considered for the 2014 Irwin Award and do not need to be re-nominated.

The Hardware and Software Behind ELMAR Is Paid for with AMA Dues
Please Support ELMAR by joining the AMA or renewing your membership