AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Nominations


Call for nominations for the 2013 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award; Deadline 15 Oct 2012

2013 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award
Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2013 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award are now being sought. The award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education. It will be presented at the AMA’s 2013 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference. This year marks the twenty-eighth annual presentation of the award.

Six criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  • General Creativity/Innovativeness
  • Administrative Contributions
  • Teaching and Mentoring
  • Public Service
  • Research Contributions
  • Service to the Marketing Profession

All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over an extended period of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should be submitted in electronic form and should include:

  1. A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession.
  2. A current curriculum vita for the nominee.

The Irwin Award Committee will select a winner from the nominations received. This year’s committee is composed of the following five individuals: Jeff Inman (chair), Bart Weitz, Mark Houston, Russ Winer, and Venky Shankar. Electronic copies of submission materials should be sent by October 15, 2012 to the chair of the Irwin Award Committee:

Jeff Inman
Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing
Katz School of Business
University of Pittsburgh

Carryover Policy

It is committee policy to evaluate a nominee three times – the year initially nominated and the following two years. Thus, individuals who were nominated for the 2011 and 2012 Irwin Award will be automatically considered for the 2013 Irwin Award and do not need to be re-nominated.

The previous recipients of the Irwin Award are:

Roland T. Rust (2012), Distinguished University Professor and David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland.

Russell D. Winer, (2011), William Joyce Professor and Chair of the Department of Marketing, Stern School of Business, New York University.

Richard J. Lutz (2010), JCPenney Professor of Marketing, Warrington College of Business Administration, University of Florida.

Valarie Zeithaml (2009), David S. Van Pelt Family Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Gary L. Lilien (2008), Distinguished Research Professor of Management Science and the Research Director of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets (ISBM), the Pennsylvania State University.

Leonard L. Berry (2007), M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership and Professor of Humanities in Medicine, Texas A&M University.

Robert A. Peterson (2006), Charles T. Stuart III Centennial Chair, University of Texas at Austin

Kent B. Monroe (2005), J. M. Jones Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois.

Jagdish Sheth (2004), Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University

George S. Day (2003), Geoffrey T. Boisi Professor of Marketing, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Donald G. Morrison (2002), William E. Leonhard Chair in Management Professor of Marketing, University of California, Los Angeles

William L. Wilkie (2001), Aloysius and Eleanor Nathe Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame

James R. Bettman (2000), Burlington Industries Professor of Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

Donald R. Lehmann (1999), George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia University

Barton A. Weitz (1998), JC Penney Eminent Scholar in Retailing and Chair, Marketing Department, University of Florida

William D. Perreault, Jr. (1997), William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor of Business Administration, the Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Richard Staelin (1996), Edward and Rose Donnell Professor of Business Administration and Area Coordinator for Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

Richard P. Bagozzi (1995), Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing and Behavioral Science in Management, The University of Michigan, School of Business Administration

Louis W. Stern (1994), John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

Yoram (Jerry) Wind (1993), Lauder Professor and Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

Shelby D. Hunt (1992), Paul Whitfield, Horn Professor of Marketing, Texas Tech University

Paul R. Green (1991), S.S. Kresge Professor of Marketing, University of Pennsylvania

Frank M. Bass (1990), University of Texas System Eugene McDermott Professor of Management, University of Texas-Dallas

Gerald Zaltman (1989), Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Marketing, Harvard University

Sidney J. Levy (1988), the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing and Chairman, Marketing Department, Northwestern University

William Lazer (1987), Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University

Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr. (1986), Arthur C. Nielson Jr. Chair of Marketing Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Philip Kotler (1985), the S.C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

The Hardware and Software Behind ELMAR Is Paid for with AMA Dues
Please Support ELMAR by joining the AMA or renewing your membership