Lehmann Award 2011


Michael Trusov, Anand V. Bodapati and Randolph E. Bucklin are the recipients of the 2011 Donald R. Lehmann Award for their article in JMR, 47(4)

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: methods: award

2011 Lehmann Award Winners

The AMA Marketing Research Special Interest Group (MRSIG) is pleased to announce that Michael Trusov of the University of Maryland, and co-authors, Anand V. Bodapati and Randolph E. Bucklin of UCLA, are the recipients of the 2011 Lehmann Award. The Lehmann Award is given each year to the best dissertation based article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research in the previous two years.

The winning article, “Determining Influential Users in Internet Social Networks,” which appeared in the August 2010 (Volume 47, Number 4) issue of the Journal of Marketing Research, focuses on the problem of figuring out which customers of Internet social networking sites influence others’ behaviors the most. This is of interest to the firm so that the firm can potentially target these individuals as the most efficient carriers to spread the word on the product to others or enhance others’ engagement with respect to the firm.

The paper won the 2011 Paul E. Green Award, which recognizes the best article in the Journal of Marketing Research that demonstrates the greatest potential to contribute significantly to the practice of marketing research and the 2006 Alden G. Clayton competition that recognizes the best doctoral dissertation proposals on important marketing subjects.

Michael Trusov is Assistant Professor of Marketing at the Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland, Anand V. Bodapati is Associate Professor of Marketing and Randolph E. Bucklin is Peter W. Mullin Professor at Anderson School of Management, University of California, Los Angeles.

The Lehmann Award, established in honor of Dr. Donald R. Lehmann in 1997, is George E. Warren Professor of Business at Columbia University. This award honors the Best Dissertation-based Article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research. This annual award is nominated by any member of the academic community and voted on by the MRSIG Awards Committee.

In 2010, Andrew Petersen and V. Kumar won for their article “Are Product Returns a Necessary Evil? Antecedents and Consequences,” published in Journal of Marketing, 2009.

Previous award winners include:

2009: Lan Luo, P. K. Kannan and Brian Ratchford
2008: Joseph Pancras and K. Sudhir
2007: Debora Viana Thompson, Rebecca Hamilton and Roland T. Rust
2005: Rajkumar Venkatesan and V. Kumar
2004: P. C. Verhoef
2003: Katherine Lemon, Tiffany Barnett White and Russell S. Winer
2002: Vanitha Swaminathan, Richard J. Fox, and Srinivas K. Reddy
2001: Werner Reinartz, and V. Kumar
2001: Sajeev Varki, Bruce Cooil, and Roland T. Rust
2000: Venkatesh Shankar, Gregory Carpenter, and Lakshman Krishnamurthi
1999: K. Sivakumar and S. P. Raj
1998: Adam Finn and Ujwal Kayande
1997: Chan Su Park and V. Srinivasan

Please join us in congratulating Professors Trusov, Bodapati and Bucklin on this award. An award ceremony and reception will be held at the MRSIG Reception, 2011 Fall American Marketing Association Summer Educators’ Conference in San Francisco on Saturday August 6, 2011 between 5pm and 6 pm. Details will follow.