Petersen and Kumar Win Lehmann


The AMA Marketing Research SIG awards Andrew Petersen and V. Kumar the 2010 Lehmann Award for best dissertation-based article published in JM or JMR

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

2010 Lehmann Award Winners

The AMA Marketing Research Special Interest Group (MRSIG) is pleased to announce that Andrew Petersen of the University of North Carolina, and co-author, V. Kumar of Georgia State University, are the recipients of the 2010 Lehmann Award. The Lehmann Award is given each year to the best dissertation based article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research in the previous two years.

The winning article, “Are Product Returns a Necessary Evil? Antecedents and Consequences,” (Journal of Marketing, 73 (May 2009), 35-51) is the first to link marketing communications to buying behavior to product return behavior both conceptually and empirically. The paper was the first to demonstrate empirically the consequences of product return behavior on a firm’s future marketing effort (negative) and a customer’s future buying behavior (positive to a threshold). The empirical work in the paper overcame several key modeling challenges including simultaneity and endogeneity of the firm-customer exchange process; the censored and truncated nature of the data; and heterogeneity of the customer base. The paper won the 2009 Mary Kay Doctoral Dissertation Competition presented by the Academy of Marketing Science. It was a finalist for the 2009 Harold H. Maynard Award, which recognizes the Journal of Marketing article that makes the most significant contribution to marketing theory and thought. It was also a finalist for the 2009 MSI/H. Paul Root Award, which recognizes the Journal of Marketing article that has made the most significant contribution to the advancement of the practice of marketing.

Andrew Petersen is Assistant Professor of Marketing at the Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina and V. Kumar is the Richard and Susan Lenny Distinguished Chair Professor of Marketing, and Executive Director, Center for Excellence in Brand & Customer Management, at J. Mack Robinson College of Business, Georgia State University.

The Lehmann Award, established in honor of Dr. Donald R. Lehmann in 1997, is George E. Warren Professor of Business at Columbia University. This award honors the Best Dissertation-based Article published in the Journal of Marketing or Journal of Marketing Research. This annual award is nominated by any member of the academic community and voted on by the MRSIG Awards Committee. In 2009, Lan Luo, P. K. Kannan and Brian Ratchford won for their article “Incorporating Subjective Characteristics in Product Design and Evaluations”, published in JMR, 2008.

Previous award winners include:

2008: Joseph Pancras and K. Sudhir
2007: Debora Viana Thompson, Rebecca Hamilton and Roland T. Rust
2005: Rajkumar Venkatesan and V. Kumar
2004: P. C. Verhoef
2003: Katherine Lemon, Tiffany Barnett White and Russell S. Winer
2002: Vanitha Swaminathan, Richard J. Fox, and Srinivas K. Reddy
2001: Werner Reinartz, and V. Kumar
2001: Sajeev Varki, Bruce Cooil, and Roland T. Rust
2000: Venkatesh Shankar, Gregory Carpenter, and Lakshman Krishnamurthi
1999: K. Sivakumar and S. P. Raj
1998: Adam Finn and Ujwal Kayande 1997: Chan Su Park and V. Srinivasan

Please join us in congratulating Professors Petersen and Kumar on this award. An award ceremony and reception will be held at the American Marketing Association Summer Educators’ Conference in Boston. Details will follow.