ACR Early Career Award


The Association for Consumer Research calls for nominations for the first annual Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research; Deadline 30 Apr 2010

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: cb: nomination

Dear colleagues:

ACR is very pleased to announce the introduction of a new award, the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research. Starting with ACR 2010 to be held in Jacksonville, Florida, this award will be presented annually to honor the contributions of one or more consumer behavior researchers who received a PhD less than 8 years ago. The award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at our annual North American ACR conference. Details of the process for conferring this award are as follows:

Selection Process:

Each year, a panel of three ACR members is appointed by the ACR President to serve as a selection committee. The panel will solicit nominations from the ACR membership, and select one or more recipients of the award for their scholarly contributions to the field of consumer research. Criteria to be used to determine contribution include innovation, methodological rigor and the potential to substantially advance our understanding of consumer behavior.


Recipients of this award must be ACR members in good standing and may not have obtained their doctoral degree more than eight years prior to the year of the award. For example, for the award presented at the 2010 ACR conference, recipients must have received their PhD in 2002 or after.


To submit a nomination for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research, nominators should provide:

  • A letter of nomination (two pages maximum length; self-nominations are also acceptable).
  • A current vita for the nominated scholar
  • No more than three reprints representative of the nominee’s contributions.

All material needs to be submitted electronically.

This year’s selection committee consists of Jennifer Aaker, Susan Broniarczyk and Gavan Fitzsimons. ACR members are requested to help identify potential candidates for the award by sending nominations to the chair of the committee, Gavan Fitzsimons ( before April 30, 2010.

Thank you for your assistance in this important matter.