Frontiers in Service 2010


19th Annual Frontiers in Service Conference, Karlstad, Sweden, 10-13 Jun 2010, Chaired by Roland T. Rust, Bo Edvardsson and Anders Gustafsson; Deadline 1 Mar

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: services: call

19th Annual Frontiers in Service Conference
June 10-13, 2010
Karlstad, Sweden

Call for Papers


The Center for Excellence in Service,
Robert H. Smith School of Business,
University of Maryland, USA

CTF – Service Research Center
Karlstad University, Sweden

The American Marketing Association

In cooperation with the INFORMS Service Science Section


Co-Chair – Roland T. Rust
Distinguished University Professor,
David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing and Executive Director,
Center for Excellence in Service
University of Maryland, USA

Co-Chair – Bo Edvardsson
Director, CTF – Service Research Center
Karlstad University, Sweden

Co-Chair – Anders Gustafsson
CTF – Service Research Center
Karlstad University, Sweden

Stefan Nusser
Functional Manager, Almaden Services Research
IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

Anat Rafaeli
Harry Levensfeld Chaired Professor of Industrial Engineering
Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Ming-Hui Huang
Professor of E-Commerce
National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Ralph Badinelli
Chair, INFORMS Service Science Section
Professor of Business Information Technology
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Thomas L. Baker
Chair, AMA Services Marketing Special Interest Group
Associate Professor
Clemson University, USA


  • Service Science
  • Service Information Technology
  • Service Innovation
  • Service Marketing
  • Empirical Studies of Service
  • Theoretical Perspectives on Service
  • Service Engineering
  • Service Design
  • Service Productivity
  • Healthcare Service
  • Service Operations
  • Service Human Resources
  • E-Service
  • Customer Relationship Management
  • Globalization
  • Government Policy
  • Public Sector
  • E-Government
  • Trade in Service
  • Other topics in research


Considered to be the world’s leading annual conference on service research and drawing attendees from 38 countries, Frontiers 2010 will be hosted by CTF – Service Research Center, Karlstad University, in Karlstad, Sweden. Concurrent and plenary sessions will be held all day Friday and Saturday, concluding Sunday morning with plenary sessions. The conference will open with a reception Thursday evening and will feature the awards dinner and a special networking event on Friday and Saturday nights.

For up-to-date conference information, go to the conference’s official Web site at


Once again, we will highlight the work of business practitioners presented during the concurrent sessions with our second annual Best Practitioner Presentation Award contest. The selection committee (in conjunction with the conference committee) will select 3 of the most promising, worthy abstracts submitted for this year’s conference. These abstracts will be presented during a special designated track during the concurrent sessions, during which the selection committee will view and judge each presentation. The winner will then be announced during the Awards Ceremony and Dinner.

Submission Criteria: Abstracts may include academic co-authors, but should be written and presented to address a business practitioner audience. The submitter should demonstrate in the abstract (as well as in the presentation) how his or her research may be applied or has been applied to real-world practical situations or problems. The presentations should be practical and managerial yet innovative and engaging. To be considered for this award, please select the checkbox option on the Submissions Form under the "Best Practitioner Presentation Award" section and enter a clarifying statement as to the managerial implications of your abstract topic.

Best Practitioner Presentation Selection Committee

Evert Gummeson
Stockholm University, Sweden

Kaj Storbacka
Founder and Chairman of Vectia Ltd.,
Hanken School of Economics, Finland

Doug Morse
Managing Principal
Services Transformation and Innovation Group LLC, USA


Now in its second year, the Service Innovation Practice Award is a competition that recognizes research that demonstrates service innovation has proven financial impact in industry, and emphasizes Service Science, that is, the use of multiple disciplines to solve a problem which results in new knowledge extensions for those disciplines. Sponsored by the Service Research and Innovation Initiative (SRII), the award process will consist of a first phase abstract submission and impact statement from which finalists will be selected and invited to present a 20 minute presentation at the Frontiers in Service Conference. The finalists will be judged during both phases of the competition by a committee of both academics and practitioners, culminating at the Frontiers conference where the winner will be announced during the awards ceremony and dinner. The winner will also have the opportunity for an extended abstract of his/her work to be published in the Journal of Service Research.

Instructions and Submission Form –

Submission Deadline: March 1, 2010
For more information, please contact Wendy Murphy at


Case studies by business practitioners are encouraged. Preference for academic abstracts will be given to more rigorous analytical, empirical and behavioral approaches. Reviews of major research areas are especially encouraged.

The conference will highlight the latest thinking in service, particularly those that combine aspects of technology, social science, and business. Conference attendees will consist of both academicians and practitioners, and we ask that the 25-minute presentations be understandable to both groups.

Because there will be no published proceedings, we encourage authors to submit their best work, providing it will not have been published by the date of the conference.

Abstracts may be submitted online at

The closing date for abstracts is at 23:59, Eastern-Standard time on January 15, 2010. The conference committee will select abstracts on a competitive basis, and authors will be notified by February 15, 2010.