Richard Pollay Prize


The Sauder School of Business at the University of British Columbia calls for nominations for the 5th Annual Pollay Prize for Marketing in the Public Interest; Deadline 31 Dec 2009

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

Call for Nominations: 5th Annual Pollay Prize for Marketing in the Public Interest – Deadline Dec 31, 2009

Nominations are invited for the 5th Annual Pollay Prize sponsored by the Sauder School of Business at the University of British Columbia. The prize is awarded for Intellectual Excellence in the Study of Marketing in the Public Interest.

The prize is named for Rick Pollay in recognition of his many and varied contributions as a scholar, teacher, and advocate in the area of Marketing, Advertising and the Public Interest. The prize was established in 2006 to recognize career accomplishments as well as promising emergent careers. In keeping with the broad scope of the area, nominations are open to individuals from a broad range of backgrounds. Criteria for selection include intellectual excellence as demonstrated by published work, contribution to the field, and a passion for mentoring and communication.

Previous winners of the prize include Professor Marvin Goldberg of Pennsylvania State University, Professor Alan Andreasen of Georgetown University, Professor Lauren Block of the City University of New York, and Professor Connie Pechmann of University of California Irvine.

The recipient will receive an honorarium of $5000 (CAD) and spend two days on the beautiful UBC campus in Vancouver to present a seminar, teach a master class to graduate students, and interact with faculty, students and media. All travel and related expenses will be paid by UBC.

The selection committee is co-chaired by Darren Dahl and Chuck Weinberg. Nominations may be made by oneself or by others. A maximum one page nomination letter plus a current CV are required. Those nominated in previous years will be automatically considered for the award but an updated CV is required. Please forward nominations to by December 31, 2009.

Darren Dahl & Charles B. Weinberg
Sauder School of Business
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2