Churchill Award to VK


The 2009 Gilbert A. Churchill Award, given by the AMA's Marketing Research SIG, has gone to V. Kumar

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: methods: content

Related ARContent: MRSIG 

2009 Churchill Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
Dr. V. Kumar, Georgia State University

The Marketing Research Special Interest Group (MRSIG) is proud to announce that V. Kumar of Georgia State University is the 2009 Churchill Award winner. The Churchill Award for lifetime achievement in the academic study of Marketing Research is given each year by the AMA Market Research Special Interest Group to an outstanding research scholar for lifetime contribution to the academic field of marketing research.

V. Kumar is the Richard and Susan Lenny Distinguished Chair Professor in Marketing, Executive Director of the Center for Excellence in Brand and Customer Management, and the Director of the Doctoral Program at the J. Mack Robinson College of Business at Georgia State University. Dr. Kumar has established ground breaking work in multiple areas of marketing research including, uncovering the impact of retail promotions, understanding the effects of choice and customization, strengthening decision support models, modeling customer lifetime value (CLV), building a profitable customer loyalty base, forecasting sales and market-share, and incorporating the path to profitability through integrating customer brand value and customer referral value. Dr. Kumar ranks among the world’s top-five marketing scholars having authored more than 67 journal publications and 6 books in the area of marketing research alone. His research has been cited more than two thousand times and the managerial relevance of his work is seen through its implementation in many Fortune 500 firms. The effectiveness of his work is evidenced from companies such as IBM and P&G which have acknowledged growth in profits by implementing Dr. Kumar’s statistical models.

Dr. Kumar’s previous awards include two lifetime achievement awards. He was the 2007 AMA Strategy SIG Mahajan Award for Lifetime Contribution to Marketing Strategy and the 2007 recipient of the AMA IOSIG Lifetime Contributions Award to InterOrganizational Issues, He has been honored twice, 2003 and 2005, with the prestigious MSI/Paul H. Root Award for the Paper Published in Journal of Marketing that best contributes to the Practice of Marketing. As a co-author and dissertation chair, he has received the MRSIG’s Don Lehmann Award in 2001 and 2005, for the best dissertation based articles published in the Journal of Marketing and Journal of Marketing Research. In 2007, he was the winner of The Sheth Foundation Award for the Best Paper Published in the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science and in 2008, he was a Finalist for the Harold H. Maynard Award for the Best Paper published in the Journal of Marketing in 2008. This year, he was proudly recognized by the AMA Foundation with the 25 Year Consortium Fellow Research Excellence Award for Scholarly Achievement and Contribution to Marketing Thought and Practice.

The Churchill Award is in honor of Dr. Gilbert A. Churchill, retired professor of Marketing at the University of Wisconsin – Madison. Previous recipients of the MRSIG Churchill Award include:

2008: Michel Wedel, University of Maryland
2007: Dominique Hanssens, University of California, Los Angeles
2005: Don Lehmann, Columbia University
2004: J. Paul Peter, University of Wisconsin
2003: Richard Bagozzi, Rice University
2002: Frank Bass, University of Texas
2001: Donald Morrison, University of California, Los Angeles
2000: Roland Rust, Vanderbilt University
1999: Vijay Mahajan, University of Texas – Austin
1998: Seenu Srinivasan, Stanford University
1997: Bill Perreault, University of North Carolina
1996: Paul Green, University of Pennsylvania

Please join us in congratulating Professor Kumar’s award. An award ceremony and reception will be held Saturday evening, August 8th at the American Marketing Association Summer Educators’ Conference in Chicago.