Sidney J. Levy Award


Nominations are sought for the Sidney J. Levy Award, given to the best dissertation-based Consumer Culture Theory article in the preceding calendar year

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: cb: award

Related ARContent: Article Awards 

The Sidney J. Levy Award competition is held annually in honor of one of the intellectual pioneers of Consumer Culture Theory (CCT). The award is given to the best CCT dissertation article published in the preceding calendar year.

Authors of a published dissertation-based article in the area of Consumer Culture Theory and related theoretical areas (first submission must be within three years of receipt of degree) are encouraged to submit their articles for the annual Sidney J. Levy Award competition.

The award is given to the author of the best article based on a CCT dissertation thesis that is published in an English-language marketing and/or consumer journal. The winner receives $1500. One honorable mention award may also be given ($1000). The recipients will be presented at the annual CCT conference luncheon.

There may only be one Levy Award submission per dissertation. All submissions must be based directly on dissertation data and theory. Applicants must clearly identify themselves as the first author and will be the sole recipient of the award.

Consideration is given to articles published within the calendar year. Submission deadline is March 1 of the following year. The Levy Award judging is completed by June 1 of the following year. A panel comprised of three consumer culture theorists with outstanding credentials will judge submitted articles based on contribution to knowledge in- and outside of CCT, conciseness, and potential to shape the course of Consumer Culture Theory and marketing in the future.

!! The deadline for the 2008 competition” March 1, 2009 !!

For questions and submissions visit:

or contact Markus Giesler at