Distinguished Marketing Educator 2009


Nominations are sought for the 2009 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award; Deadline 3 Oct 2008

AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

Nominations for the 2009 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award are now being sought. The award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education. It will be presented at the AMA’s 2009 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference. This year marks the twenty-fifh annual presentation of the award. Previous recipients are:

Philip Kotler (1985), the S.C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr. (1986), Arthur C. Nielson Jr. Chair of Marketing Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison

William Lazer (1987), Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University

Sidney J. Levy (1988), the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing and Chairman, Marketing Department, Northwestern University

Gerald Zaltman (1989), Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Marketing, Harvard University

Frank M. Bass (1990), University of Texas System Eugene McDermott Professor of Management, University of Texas-Dallas

Paul R. Green (1991), S.S. Kresge Professor of Marketing, University of Pennsylvania

Shelby D. Hunt (1992), Paul Whitfield, Horn Professor of Marketing, Texas Tech University

Yoram (Jerry) Wind (1993), Lauder Professor and Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

Louis W. Stern (1994), John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

Richard P. Bagozzi (1995), Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing and Behavioral Science in Management, The University of Michigan, School of Business Administration

Richard Staelin (1996), Edward and Rose Donnell Professor of Business Administration and Area Coordinator for Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

William D. Perreault, Jr. (1997), William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor of Business Administration, the Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Barton A. Weitz (1998), JC Penney Eminent Scholar in Retailing and Chair, Marketing Department, University of Florida

Donald R. Lehmann (1999), George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia University

James R. Bettman (2000), Burlington Industries Professor of Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

William L. Wilkie (2001), Aloysius and Eleanor Nathe Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame

Donald G. Morrison (2002), William E. Leonhard Chair in Management Professor of Marketing, University of California, Los Angeles

George S. Day (2003), Geoffrey T. Boisi Professor of Marketing, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Jagdish Sheth (2004), Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University

Kent B. Monroe (2005), J. M. Jones Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois University of Illinois.

Robert A. Peterson (2006), Charles T. Stuart III Centennial Chair, University of Texas at Austin

Leonard L. Berry (2007), M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership and Professor of Humanities in Medicine, Texas A&M University.

Gary L. Lilien (2008), Distinguished Research Professor of Management Science and the Research Director of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets (ISBM), the Pennsylvania State University.

Six specific criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  • General Creativity/Innovativeness
  • Administrative Contributions
  • Teaching and Mentoring
  • Public Service
  • Research Contributions
  • Service to the Marketing Profession

All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over extended periods of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should include:

  1. A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession.
  2. A current curriculum vitae for the nominee.

All nomination materials should be sent, preferably by e-mail, by October 3, 2008 to:

Dominique M. Hanssens
Bud Knapp Professor of Marketing
UCLA Anderson School of Management
Los Angeles, California 90095 -1481, USA
Telephone +1 310.825.4497