AAA Awards


American Academy of Advertising seeks nominations for awards on service, teaching and education, and ethics and social responsibility; Deadline 2 Jan 2009

 ARC: Connections: ELMAR: Posting

areas: promotion: awards

Related ARContent: Awards 

The Awards Committee of the American Academy of Advertising announces its call for nominations for four prestigious awards: the Distinguished Service Award, the Charles H. Sandage Award for Teaching Excellence (called the “Sandy”), the Billy I. Ross Advertising Education Award, and the Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility. Refer to the website for more information on each award:

The Distinguished Service Award is given by the American Academy of Advertising to individuals who have rendered distinguished service to the organization and/or advertising education. The person should be a champion of advertising education, active in providing opportunities for the professional development of students and faculty and someone who unselfishly performs this meritorious service. One need not be a member of the AAA to be considered for this award.

The Charles H. Sandage Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes outstanding contributions to advertising teaching. Examples of excellence might include: performance of students as advertising (or business) professionals, performance of students as advertising (or other) teachers, case study development and publication, textbook publication, letters from past students, innovative course development, and innovative ex-class room teaching development.

The Billy I. Ross Advertising Education Award is to recognize innovative work that advances the field of advertising education. It is given to people who have completed projects or other innovative efforts in teaching. Examples of projects might include: innovations for teaching a new advertising course, published work about innovative class projects in advertising, published research that advances advertising education, support materials (such as visual aids) for conference presentations about advertising education, and dissemination of information to advertising educators that is helpful in the classroom.

The Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility recognizes individuals or organizations who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to advertising ethics and social responsibility. There must be evidence of lifetime achievement in either ethics or social responsibility. For an academic, such evidence may be in the form of scholarly publications and for an advertising practitioner or organization the results of specific programs or activities that have had a positive impact on society would serve as evidence.

Any member of the Academy may nominate an individual (or an organization, in the case of the Kim Rotzoll Award) for any of these honors. Note that letters of support alone are not adequate documentation; in fact, support letters without documentation will not be considered by the committee. A meaningful nomination should include at least three, but no more than five, actual support documents. All letters should fully explain, with reference to documents and with as much detail as possible, the reasons the person is being nominated. All documents should be e-mailable, in Word or .pdf. format.

Nominations and supporting documentation should sent to the Chair of the Awards Committee no later than January 2, 2009:

Dr. Mary Ann Stutts
Texas State University-San Marcos
McCoy College of Business Administration
Department of Marketing-424 McCoy Hall
San Marcos, Texas 78666
Phone: 512-245-3190
Fax: 512-245-7475